PDA

View Full Version : I may be going crazy...



samw
21-02-2006, 18:00
For a long time I played a rule which stated that if a single model with US of less than five was wiped out by magic or shooting it did not cause panic in the surrounding units. However, when confronted on this point I was unable to find any reference to this in the rule book. Did I imagine the whole thing, have I confused it with another rule, or am I just missing it when I look for it? Any help to put my mind at rest would be greatly appreciated.

Eldaron
21-02-2006, 18:09
Q. If a friendly single model with less than 5 wounds on its original
profile is destroyed by missile fire or magic, does it cause a panic
test for friendly units within 4"? Do single models with less than
5 wounds on their original profile cause panic tests in any
situations?

A. In the Warhammer Chronicles Errata section, the wording on
page 81 of the Rulebook was changed to exclude single models with
less than 5 wounds on their original profile from causing Panic tests
when destroyed by missile fire or magic. Such models also do not
cause panic tests if they are destroyed in close combat. Note however
that such models DO cause panic tests in friendly units within 6" if
they break from close combat and if they are fleeing and have higher
unit strength than friendly units within 4" at the start of a turn.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 125 / Rulebook pages 80, 81

T10
21-02-2006, 18:49
It is not a matter of Unit Strength, it is a matter of "starting wounds". Usually the same thing, but not quite.

A 5W monster mount with a character does not cause panic if destroyed, as it only has 5W even if its Unit Strength is 6.

-T10

gortexgunnerson
21-02-2006, 19:04
Surely for starting wounds would be >5 as it has 5 for the monster and 2/3 for the guy on top as that is the number of wounds the model has to take to wipe it out.

I would say in the situation mentioned a panic check would be caused by the destruction of a monster and rider

samw
21-02-2006, 20:26
Thanks a lot guys! My faith in my own sanity is (partially!) restored. :D

MarcoPollo
21-02-2006, 20:32
So I suppose that they wouldn't have to take a panic test if the a chariot got killed by a cannon or by other shooting. It seems so.

Of course, if there was a hero in it then they would have to take a test.