PDA

View Full Version : 8th edition combat questions



stuntyKing
29-05-2010, 18:19
In 8th edition, infantry are able to "step up" and take place of a fallen commrad from battle. When this happens do they still fight in two ranks? example: a unit of hammerers kills the whole front rank of a 5x5 unit of infantry. so with the new rules five people (things i guess) will still be able to strike, but do those units still fight in to ranks?

Kalandros
29-05-2010, 18:45
Yes, casualties are taken from the Back only.

5x5 hammers vs 5x5 other infantry

10 Hammerers get to strike and kill 5 opponents, the enemy infantry strikes back with 10 models too.

stuntyKing
29-05-2010, 18:48
k thanks, also do the step up models only get to attack once? or is that only the second rank of attackers

SideshowLucifer
29-05-2010, 19:35
Only the second rank. You just literaly remove casualties from the back.

Avian
29-05-2010, 19:36
Stepping up is really not complicated at all and only deals with where casualties are removed from, it doesn't really have anything to do with who can attack and how many attacks they get.