PDA

View Full Version : Beast Lord Loadout

Latro_
04-06-2010, 09:20
So trying to think how i'm going to arm mine, He's gonna be in a unit of 17 beastigors.

Was thinking hw/shield, tali protect, gnarled skin, pelt of shadow gave
So he's got a 2 save in combat at the unit is at -1 getting shot at an -2 magic at them.

Think is folks have said he just inst killy enough and I'm pretty new to fantasy, i thought 4 s5 attacks were pretty good (can tell what other game i play ;)).

What do you guys give yours?

I was thinking of swapping his stuff for: the wolverineesk d3 attack item, and the armour that lets you attack if you make a save, gnarled skin and heavy armour too so he still has 2+ save but a potential 5-7 attacks + attacks from making saves.

oops in general, apologies not had my coffee yet this morning.

Falkman
04-06-2010, 10:48
4 S5 attacks in general won't do you much when you face off against the enemy's heavy hitters.
My beastlord is tooled to the extreme, he takes on units head-on and comes out winning (he once fought a unit of Skaven Stormvermin to the front while he also had Skavenslaves in his flank, and he won).

I give him the Brass Cleaver, Ramhorn helm, Gouge-tusks, Gnarled hide, heavy armour, shield and a Razorgor chariot.

This means that on the charge against a normal infantry unit, if fighting to the front, he will kick out 8 S5 attacks at -3 armour save, 1 S4 attack, 4 S6 attacks, and D6 impact hits. If anyone wounds him and he saves, that's an additional attack per save as well.
He's expensive as hell though, comes in at 374 pts, but there's few things in Warhammer (that doesn't ride a Dragon) that are as killy as he is.

I really don't think putting him in a Bestigor unit is any good. Bestigors themselves are a crap unit, so spending lots of points on them and then even more on a character, just to get a sub-par unit, is a big waste if you ask me.

mrtn
04-06-2010, 11:10