PDA

View Full Version : Ward Saves and Regen



Goblin Gonads
17-06-2010, 22:19
I was told today by a mate who has spent several hours a day in the local GW reading the new book that you must now choose between a ward save and a regen save but you can't roll for both.

This seems to go against what's been posted in various threads on warseer, can any one confirm or refute this?

Irish_Icicle
17-06-2010, 22:24
you still have both, but you have to choose between which one to roll if your armor save fails.

StarFyre
18-06-2010, 00:58
DOuble confirmed - read the book 2 nights ago.

You get armour save....but if you have both regen and ward, you can only use one of them.

(so 2 saves max total -- doesn't make sense, but probably better for the game as a whole)

Sanjay

Kaleth
18-06-2010, 03:11
If you have no armour save can you get 2 saves as in ward and regeneration?
Also can you have an armoursave and choose not to roll it and instead take the ward and regeneration?

kaintxu
18-06-2010, 03:34
well my plaguebearers are screwed i guess i'll change them to round bases and use them only for 40k

Paraelix
18-06-2010, 03:34
No, you may not.

Edit-

well my plaguebearers are screwed i guess i'll change them to round bases and use them only for 40k
No... They're just less dirty... Well they're still dirty... Just not in a rules sense :D

Voss
18-06-2010, 03:36
No. Its a hard formula, not mix and match. Take an armour save (if you don't have one, thats effectively a failure), then take ward or regen.

ChaosVC
18-06-2010, 03:54
this is one of those rare good rules from 8th ed.

kaintxu
18-06-2010, 05:10
No, you may not.

Edit-

No... They're just less dirty... Well they're still dirty... Just not in a rules sense :D

actually they are putrid, right?

they were tough but now 12 points for what they do i dont really see it worth at all I can just start comparing them to many many units and .... :S

grumbaki
18-06-2010, 06:35
actually they are putrid, right?

they were tough but now 12 points for what they do i dont really see it worth at all I can just start comparing them to many many units and .... :S

12pts. M-4 WS-4 S-4 T-4 unbreakable (pretty much), 4+ regen (5+ ward if hit by flaming)...I really don't see what is so bad here.

12pts, dwarf hammer. M-3 WS-5 S-6 T-4 AS-5+, stubborn.

Those plaguebearers arn't too bad.

ChaosVC
18-06-2010, 06:38
12pts. M-4 WS-4 S-4 T-4 unbreakable (pretty much), 4+ regen (5+ ward if hit by flaming)...I really don't see what is so bad here.

12pts, dwarf hammer. M-3 WS-5 S-6 T-4 AS-5+, stubborn.

Those plaguebearers arn't too bad.

Actually you fail to mention I1, WS3 and poison. They are still worth their points because before that, they are undercosted.

Kaleth
18-06-2010, 06:44
Also to note they only get regeneration as long as the unit is joined by a herald of nurgle
and that was/is also as long as he is alive ;)

shelfunit.
18-06-2010, 06:48
Actually you fail to mention I1, WS3 and poison. They are still worth their points because before that, they are undercosted.

And to get the Str6 the hammerers always strike last.

ChaosVC
18-06-2010, 06:48
Noxious vapour and hidding in the corner usually works...maybe less in 8th ed with all the dice that can go at it slapping its belly like a torrent of rain.