PDA

View Full Version : Skaven Question



LarryLimerick
18-06-2010, 14:35
I having been thinking about starting a Skaven army lately, I have never played Warhammer (40K or Fantasy), just LOTR SBG, but I have always thought that Skaven looked pretty cool.

So anyways I know that Skaven have clans and certain units that go with these clans, and I was just wondering if you were to make a Skaven army can you mix the different units from these clans? Is this looked down on or are the clans just there more for fluff and theming your armies? Because I know have seen some army lists that just kind of mix it up with what ever so I was just wondering what the deal was with this.

Thanks in advance for any help!

Ultimate Life Form
18-06-2010, 14:43
You can mix units from the Skaven book in a normal fashion like any other book, so all you need to mind is the normal army building restrictions.

It is only looked down on by me for the fact that it screams 'powergamer' (I only take the most powerful choices!!!!1111) and because I love fluffy lists, though this is relativized by the fact that the background states mixed Skaven forces aren't an oddity but standard.

LarryLimerick
18-06-2010, 18:24
Ok thanks, I may just mix it up then to start, since I am just starting out, but maybe I will try to theme an army towards one clan later on.

Charistoph
18-06-2010, 18:30
Also remember that there are lesser clans that generally provide all the clanrats, slaves, and stormvermin units. These just purchase the other units from the specialist clans to add their skills to their force, or are loaned for later favors to advance that clan's agenda.

LarryLimerick
18-06-2010, 18:40
Also remember that there are lesser clans that generally provide all the clanrats, slaves, and stormvermin units. These just purchase the other units from the specialist clans to add their skills to their force, or are loaned for later favors to advance that clan's agenda.

Ok thanks!

LarryLimerick
19-06-2010, 23:39
Hey guys just had another question, just thought I would put it here rather than making a new thread. I was just wonder if you could use this model http://www.games-workshop.com/gws/catalog/productDetail.jsp?catId=cat50036&prodId=prod1040018&rootCatGameStyle= for a Skaven Chieftain, as it is listed as a Warlord, but at the bottom it has stats for a Warlord and a Chieftan. So I was wondering if the model could be used for either/or, thanks for any help!

Ultimate Life Form
19-06-2010, 23:44
You can use the model to represent either.

In fact we in fantasy will tolerate a model to represent pretty much anything as long as it's cool and makes sense. ;)

LarryLimerick
19-06-2010, 23:45
Ok thanks for the help!

Charistoph
20-06-2010, 05:22
... and makes sense. ;)

This being the key point.

A Cheiftain is just a young, undeveloped Warlord (or so he thinks), so it's easy to use him as one, the other, or both over the time of your gameplay. Just don't call him something ridiculous like a Bretonnian Lord (no mount), Rat Ogre, Poisoned Rat Swarm or a Hell Pit Abomination (not saying he can't be a PART of an Abomination, just not by himself alone), and you're good.