PDA

View Full Version : Would hamstring your army because of bad models?

Galatan
22-06-2010, 15:54
Something else than all the 8th edition talk :P .

There are bound to be lots of people who haven't taken a unit (even though it's a solid and smart choice), just because you don't like the models.

Me for example simply can't convince myself to buy some terradons. IMO they are the best unit in dealing pesky flankers/arti units next to the more unreliable charmeleon skinks, but the terradons themselves are just.....not having their best moment when it comes to the model. Sadly as a painter I find the looks of a model a lot more important than the actual usefulness (I also don't like saurus, so I tend to take a lot more skinks, which look good IMO). This is something I come across a lot in WHFB. Good useful units, but with bad looking models to represent them.

Some more examples:
Most of the high elf range (reavers, silver helms), Dark elf dark riders and warriors, the dreaded razorgor, VC fellbats (I use TK carrion birds) and the list goes on for me at least.

Sure, you can convert/find alternatives, but I can imagine that not everybody has the time or dedication for that kinda thing.

So...have you made you overall army less effective, just because you don't like certain models?

Frankly
22-06-2010, 15:59
I know T4/2 attacks thin skin meataxe Saurus are just better for their points than skinks, but I can't help playing Southlands, I just love Southlands.

Hrokka `Eadsplitter
22-06-2010, 16:01
I don't atke sorcs, mostly because they're metal and not so verstile...
Also, the old Boar boys never made it, or the current hammerers(That's why I'm an Ironbreaker freak)... They just don't fit in...

Artinam
22-06-2010, 16:02
No I wouldn't I don't really like the Mounted Yeomen models but I did get them for a unit or 2.

Odin
22-06-2010, 16:02