PDA

View Full Version : Playing as the underdog

Plebian
25-06-2010, 19:06
So, I realized a strange thing about myself today when I was looking through the warseer tactica. A few years ago I was constantly reading the IG tactica. Now I rarely if ever do. I like to play as the underpowered army. It just gives me more joy. Here is what I mean.

I started playing the game many years ago, at the twilight of 2nd edition and the beginning of third. My first army was Space Wolves, and then Tau when they were released. However, I preferred to play Space Wolves, because the general consensus at my LGS was that Tau were 'overpowered'. I then collected Tyranids. This was when they were seen as not that great, and I enjoyed them. When their new codex came out, my gaming group again called them 'cheesy' and I switched to Tau, who were magically free of the stigma of cheese. I began collecting Eldar and Imperial Guard, but after the Eldar codex came out and they dominated the tournament scene, I played Guard exclusively for a long time, despite their book kinda sucking. Now that several codexes have gone by, I play Eldar all the time, and have not even looked at my IG other than a few games-I wouldn't dream of taking them to a tournament. I sold my Wolves after I saw the new codex.

Does anyone else have a strange compulsion to play with older codexes? I'm not even sure why I do.

Well, thanks for listening to me.

PS I just started collecting Dark Eldar. Now the new rumours are getiing me worried...

bigcheese76
25-06-2010, 19:10
Yes. I much prefer my old guard book to my new one. Also, at the moment I really enjoy playing my Daemonhunters. The models are beautiful, its an elite army (completely different to my guard) and I love painting them.

A friend of mine, has a main army of Sisters of Battle, he has some Wolves aswell, but the Sisters turn up to battle 90% of the time and I really enjoy games against them, at least when that penitent engine is down!

Lechium