PDA

View Full Version : Casualties taken from the back rank



jaxom
01-07-2010, 20:37
In 8th edition, the wording is as in the title. This makes sense in most cases. In the last it leaves me to wonder at intent and gamesmanship.

If you hit a block of infantry in the rear and swing first two questions arise. Must the opponent remove the models swung at (instead of starting at the other end of the unit for example) and does this cost him attacks back at you?

I'd guess intent was that all models which start in base should get attacks (essentially troops stepping *back* into combat) but that is just gut feel. I can find nothing in the BRB to address it at all.

Lord Zarkov
01-07-2010, 20:58
EEEEE EEEEE
XX XXXXX EEEEE
XXXXX XX XXXXX
XXXXX => XXXXX => XXXXX

Here E has rear-charged X, firstly models move back to fill the gaps in the rear rank (there is a diagram for the same situation in the flank in the book. Then when the rank has all been taken out the attakers move foward to remain in contact (there is a passage about this in the book

Eumerin
01-07-2010, 21:03
It looks like the spacing in your diagram didn't work out quite right.

^^;;


The important things are -

- The back rank is always considered "full" when being attacked from the rear. If it isn't, then you borrow models from other ranks to finish filling it out.
- Models in base to base contact always get a chance to swing back no matter what, and always get any supporting attacks provided the models are on the table.
- If two units are in close combat and all of the models in contact are killed (for instance, the entire back rank in a unit being attacked from the rear is wiped out), then the other unit is immediately moved up so that it is once again in contact.

Lord Zarkov
01-07-2010, 21:05
oops - fail
Yeah Eumerin is right and his points were what my failed diagrams tried to get across

stashman
01-07-2010, 23:18
"Casualties taken from the back rank"

How will this work with O&G Squigherds with mixed models???

Lord Zarkov
01-07-2010, 23:21
Follow the rules for O&G Squig Herds as presented in their Army Book, which IIRC means that if the squigs are attacked take models from the back of the Squigs, and if Goblins are attacked take models from the back of the Goblins

stashman
01-07-2010, 23:33
Follow the rules for O&G Squig Herds as presented in their Army Book, which IIRC means that if the squigs are attacked take models from the back of the Squigs, and if Goblins are attacked take models from the back of the Goblins

Ok, thats right. Then you just put 5 Night goblins in the front and then take them away from the back and soon there will be no nightgoblins to take away,then what do we do?

8 teams = 40 models (16 nightgoblins and 24 squigs) 8 wide 5 deep

First rank = 8 nightgoblins
Last rank = 8 nightgoblins

If all 16 nightgoblins get killed, there will be 16 squigs attacking back with stepping up rule = 24 WS4 S5 attacks

Is this right?

Lord Zarkov
01-07-2010, 23:50
When there are no more goblins left there are no more goblins left - any excess wounds on goblins are wasted and you now have to attack squigs - probably not a good idea due to the Wild Squigs rule, but that's what would happen

Just put the front two ranks as squiggs anyway: then you still get 24 attacks with stepping up and don't need to worry about the unit exploding

stashman
01-07-2010, 23:53
Thanks alot