PDA

View Full Version : Wearing two hats



Once Bitten
02-07-2010, 13:58
Can my Bretonnian lord have the Crown of Command (Enchanted item) and the Gromril Great Helm (Magical Armor).

I put a list together based on item attributes, and it did not occur to me until during my game last night that my character was wearing two hats. I could see two interpretations of this: 1) of course he cannot wear two things on his head, and 2) as with other aspects of the rules, sometimes a little abstraction is necessary - since the Crown of Command is an enchanted item, it can just as easily stand for another type of item that bestows the same benefit (stubborn).

Is there a standard norm for this type of thing?

Zaustus
02-07-2010, 14:01
Since they're different types of items, it's fine to wear both. Imagine that it looks something like this, both a helm and a crown:
91837

Harwammer
02-07-2010, 14:24
You could name your general after Johnny Two Hats, a character from the first season of The Mighty Boosh.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/comedy/mightyboosh/series1/ep7/pic4.shtml

Gyulkus Chaos Saurus
02-07-2010, 15:19
Yes That's completely legitimate.

Falkman
02-07-2010, 22:33
You can wear them both, and Zaustus provides good evidence to real world events when people actually did that.

Melchiah
02-07-2010, 22:37
He needed actually have to "wear" it, he cold hold one, or have it top his banner, or shield, or maybe he horse could wear one.:shifty:

decker_cky
02-07-2010, 22:41
Completely disallowed. I demand that you call it the underpants of command rather than helm of command.

Falkman
02-07-2010, 22:46
"This guy? He's wearing the Quite dashing scarf of Command."

Zaustus
03-07-2010, 01:34
You can wear them both, and Zaustus provides good evidence to real world events when people actually did that.
Well, if by "real world" you mean "Monty Python and the Holy Grail." :p

Gaargod
03-07-2010, 01:38
That's not the same thing?

Also, see the explanation before the section on magic items - just because something has a name, doesn't mean it is that sort of itme (specifically ogre blade could be ogre axe, but works for armour too). Even if they both added to armour value, one could be gauntlets/greaves/whatever. As they don't, its even easier!

Falkman
03-07-2010, 01:39
Well, if by "real world" you mean "Monty Python and the Holy Grail." :p
It's the real world, you can see it at the end :p.

chivalrous
03-07-2010, 01:42
Well, if by "real world" you mean "Monty Python and the Holy Grail." :p

As an example, some kings had a crown bolted to their helmet. An example (albeit an anachronistic one) can be seen in the current Robin Hood film when Robin and co. retrieve the late King Richard's helmet.

Darktan
03-07-2010, 02:24
"This guy? He's wearing the Quite dashing scarf of Command."

pure gold.

Ludaman
03-07-2010, 17:51
My Bret General has been sporting his "Gromril Crested Great-Hair" for as long as I can remember, Dwarves rune-encrusted his coiffure to make it bullet-resistant as well as dashing to the ladies...

Nocculum
03-07-2010, 17:53
The Crown of Command is in fact referring to a silver crown, and is thus a magical coin ;)