PDA

View Full Version : Bretonnian Lance Formation



TheSaxon
04-07-2010, 03:33
I know on the turn the unit charges every unit on the outside of the lance formation can attack, but what about if the combat holds? Can only the front rank then attack?

Ramius4
04-07-2010, 03:46
I know on the turn the unit charges every unit on the outside of the lance formation can attack, but what about if the combat holds? Can only the front rank then attack?

Yes, only the front rank.

In 8th edition, units are allowed to reform after resolving combats. If you've won the round, you can automatically if you like. If you've lost the round, you need to pass a Ld test first.

I think a very viable way of using lances in 8th will be to hit them in lance formation on the charge, then 'pancake' out into 2 wide ranks for the next round of combat.

TheSaxon
04-07-2010, 04:12
thanks for the clarification, it is slightly ambiguous in the army book, and wanted to make sure i wasn't cheating an opponent

Ramius4
04-07-2010, 04:23
It's really not ambiguous at all. Page 41 under 'The Lance in Combat'

The very first paragraph begins with "On the turn that a unit of Knights in Lance formation charge, all models etc. etc....

Clear as can be right in the first sentence.