PDA

View Full Version : Mixed-base units and challenges in 8th



jaxom
04-07-2010, 23:23
So, if I have a unit of Goblins with a Black Orc Warboss in it, the new rules are explicit about where the Warboss has to be in the unit. This leads to some interesting questions...

Say the unit is a horde of Goblins and it gets charged and the Warboss is not in base with the enemy... Can he still Make Way! to the fight? If the opponent challenges and the Warboss cannot Make Way, can he still accept as per p.102? If he accepts and cannot move to the fight do all the Goblins who are in base with the enemy still swing? Does the opponent replace his challenger with a R&F model so he also gets an extra model swinging?

Ganymede
05-07-2010, 05:02
Yes. The rules state that if you can not move the challenger or challenged model, just leave them be and abstract it.

jaxom
06-07-2010, 17:56
Ok, so that answers one question of four. I don't doubt that he can accept the challenge since p.102 is pretty explicit. What about the lack of a challenge? Can he still Make Way! to the fight? And if he cannot be in b2b for the challenge, what do you do about the number of models striking?

Atrahasis
06-07-2010, 17:59
He cannot "Make Way", as he cannot move in the ranks.