PDA

View Full Version : Stone Throwers 8th



phoenixcrh
05-07-2010, 17:49
I have heard over on bugmans brewery that stone throwers can shoot over units in 8th? As in lets say 2 units of dwarf warriors in front of a grudge thrower, the grudge thrower can shoot over them with out line of sight. Is any of this true? Considering the new rules for TLOS.

Tae
05-07-2010, 17:56
They can fire 'indirect' (a la 40k) in which case they always scatter (use the arrow on the 'hit' side).

phoenixcrh
05-07-2010, 18:01
Well thats the best news ive had all day :)

Ganymede
05-07-2010, 20:01
Not only that, but the distance of the scatter is lowered by the crew's ballistic skill.

Blekinge
05-07-2010, 21:01
If you roll an arrow on the scatter dice, the shot scatters as normal.

If you roll a hit, the shot scatters the normal distance minus the crews ballistic skill

UberBeast
06-07-2010, 00:28
So basically when firing indirectly the always scatter (unless you roll 3 or less!)

willowdark
06-07-2010, 05:58
Unless you roll a _hit_ and 3 or less.

Kalandros
06-07-2010, 07:21
Yeah, you need a HIT to be able to use ballistic skill to reduce the distance.
Careful with all the incomplete interpretations or wrong readings by people, don't forget to read the rules when you get them (; Too many people already have many things wrong even after reading the rules.

jedimasterwiggy
06-07-2010, 18:55
linked to this topic I've heard conflicting things over if stone throwers still ignore armour saves or just modify them? Anyone know which is true?

Harwammer
06-07-2010, 19:50
If you roll an arrow on the scatter dice, the shot scatters as normal.

If you roll a hit, the shot scatters the normal distance minus the crews ballistic skill

Does this mean the shot can scatter by a negative amount if your artillery dice rolls low on an indirect hit? I know the first time I read through the stone thrower rule I missed some details, hopefully there is a rule stopping this happening.

theunwantedbeing
06-07-2010, 19:56
Does this mean the shot can scatter by a negative amount if your artillery dice rolls low on an indirect hit?

No it doesnt.

jmt
06-07-2010, 20:13
:confused: How does this work with the Goblin Doomdiver "correction"? Does it still get the d3 correction after rolling scatter?

spiderman5z
07-07-2010, 04:16
Does this mean the shot can scatter by a negative amount if your artillery dice rolls low on an indirect hit? I know the first time I read through the stone thrower rule I missed some details, hopefully there is a rule stopping this happening.

how would something scatter a negative distance.......

Mr_Rose
07-07-2010, 07:07
:confused: How does this work with the Goblin Doomdiver "correction"? Does it still get the d3 correction after rolling scatter?
Why wouldn't it? Nothing in the rulebook except for the army composition rules and the Common Magic Items list overrides anything in the army books; just the specific interactions change. Or will be changed by the errata/FAQs.

Lyynark
07-07-2010, 08:16
how would something scatter a negative distance.......

The template shrinks :)

Mr_Rose
07-07-2010, 08:44
how would something scatter a negative distance.......
If it's a vector quantity (and it is) the traditional method of reversing it is to also flip the direction by 180 degrees in each axis.

That is, it would go in the opposite direction to the one the arrow is pointing in.

Dutch_Digger
07-07-2010, 09:06
what does 18 degrees in each axis mean?
it sounds like a 180 turn but wtheck!

Atrahasis
07-07-2010, 09:08
He meant "180 degrees in each axis", so you're correct.

Mr_Rose
07-07-2010, 12:15
No idea what y'all chattin' 'bout; there's nothin' wrong wit' my post. :p