PDA

View Full Version : Third Eye of Tzeentch



Nitael
08-07-2010, 16:28
Can I give it to Exalted Hero who has a Book of Secrets ?

Oberon
08-07-2010, 16:30
You can't, because it is sorcerers only. You could give the hero a dispel scroll for example as they are "wizards only".

kyuzo
08-07-2010, 16:30
Most likely not since it says sorcerers only and not wizards only.

Mr_Rose
08-07-2010, 16:38
Are not the terms "Sorcerer" and "Wizard" noted several times as being interchangeable in various locations?

Oberon
08-07-2010, 16:38
Sorcerers are wizards, but wizards aren't sorcerers. The book is for sorcerers only.

EDIT: Mr_Rose: no, not in the sorcerer entry or the lore-section.

Nitael
08-07-2010, 16:38
So that would mean I can't give it to Daemon Prince ? :/

Oberon
08-07-2010, 16:44
As absurd as it is, so it would seem.

Nitael
08-07-2010, 16:48
Are not the terms "Sorcerer" and "Wizard" noted several times as being interchangeable in various locations?

Regarding that I just read in the Army Book something like that (in Using Chaos Magic) :

"The term 'Sorcerer' is used describe Wizards who follow the Chaos Gods"

Jericho
08-07-2010, 20:01
I think the intent is quite clear, as the wizards in the Chaos book are called Sorcerers (capital S). I think it's assumed that Sorcerer Lords can take it as well :p

I'd agree that Exalteds with BoS and princes are out of luck.

Agnar the Howler
08-07-2010, 21:09
I'd say they can, the term sorcerer is referenced as only meaning a wizard that follows the chaos gods, it shouldn't have an impact on the game at all; Chaos Sorcerers are after all called Wizards in their profiles "A sorcerer is a level 1 Wizard..." which means that, with the logic that only sorcerers may take the TEoT, they cannot take it either, as they are explicitly called wizards.

I think GW had a brainfart whilst making the WoC FAQ, or just assumed that people would play as stated in the book, with 'sorcerer' meaning nothing more than a wizard who follows chaos.

Harwammer
08-07-2010, 21:12
Regarding that I just read in the Army Book something like that (in Using Chaos Magic) :

"The term 'Sorcerer' is used describe Wizards who follow the Chaos Gods"

In other words any wizard in a warriors army is a sorcerer. This should include daemon princes (which makes sense) and by extension fighty characters with book of secrets/pointy hat.

Nitael
08-07-2010, 21:13
Yeah , but FAQ says :

Q. Is a model with the Book of Secrets
considered a Wizard? If so, how many dice
can he use to cast a spell?
A. Yes, he counts as a Wizard. He can use up to
two dice to cast a spell in the same manner as
a Level 1 Wizard.

So acording to this Exalted will be considered as a Sorcerers becouse he is a wizard and he follows Chaos Gods.
I think that he do so lol :shifty:. Same to DP.

theunwantedbeing
08-07-2010, 21:20
Can I give it to Exalted Hero who has a Book of Secrets ?

Yes, the book makes you a mage, the third eye is mages only.
You also get access to arcane items.

Mr_Rose
08-07-2010, 21:55
Yes, the book makes you a mage, the third eye is mages only.
You also get access to arcane items.
And an Exalted hero with MoT will also get +1 to cast his fire/shadow/death spell.

Gratan
08-07-2010, 22:51
Yeah , but FAQ says :

Q. Is a model with the Book of Secrets
considered a Wizard? If so, how many dice
can he use to cast a spell?
A. Yes, he counts as a Wizard. He can use up to
two dice to cast a spell in the same manner as
a Level 1 Wizard.

So acording to this Exalted will be considered as a Sorcerers becouse he is a wizard and he follows Chaos Gods.
I think that he do so lol :shifty:. Same to DP.


Yes, the book makes you a mage, the third eye is mages only.
You also get access to arcane items.

Uhm... To me that reads he is a Wizard for casting purposes.... He is still a Base Exalted Hero and not a Base Wizard for Item selection... IMHO anway...

kramplarv
08-07-2010, 23:04
Your IMHO is wrong. The Q have two questions. one sentence each.
The A has two answers. One sentence each.

So, he is a wizard. he is an exalted champion sorcerer to be more correct. :)

kyuzo
09-07-2010, 01:18
He is an exalted champion who acts like a level 1 wizard for the purpose of casting.

He is not a sorcerer.

Zaustus
09-07-2010, 03:07
Quite an interesting, if semantic discussion here. I'll chip in with my $0.02.

WoC p.106: "The term 'Sorcerer' is used describe Wizards who follow the Chaos Gods"

WoC FAQ p.5: "Q: Is a model with the Book of Secrets considered a Wizard? ... A: Yes, he counts as a Wizard."

So. We have an Exalted Hero with the Book of Secrets. Is he a Wizard? Yes, per the FAQ. Does he follow the Chaos Gods? Yes, obviously. Therefore, by WoC p.106, he is a Sorcerer. Thus, he can take Third Eye of Tzeentch.

mightyzombie
09-07-2010, 05:07
According to the BRB, pg. 28: "In Warhammer, we commonly refer to a model able to cast spells as a Wizard. Some races use different terms, such as sorcerer, shaman, or seer, but all of these and others are considered to be types of Wizards."

WoC p.106: "The term 'Sorcerer' is used describe Wizards who follow the Chaos Gods"

As far as I can see, Sorcerers are just wizards with an army-themed name, unless there's an official ruling to the contrary.

Agnar the Howler
09-07-2010, 08:14
He is an exalted champion who acts like a level 1 wizard for the purpose of casting.

He is not a sorcerer.

Please point out where it says 'for the purposes of casting' anywhere in relation to the book making you a wizard, as I cannot find it.

Being a wizard makes you able to take items usable by wizards, there is nothing that states that this is any different if you become a wizard through an item, you are simply assuming it.

EDIT: The new FAQs are up, and Daemon Princes can indeed take sorcerer only gifts: http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m1260034a_FAQ_WarriorsofChaos_2010.pdf