PDA

View Full Version : Question: Flanking a horde 8th Edition



obsidianaura
09-07-2010, 10:21
I've read the rulebook and it didn't seem to explain this.

A horde unit attacks 3 rows deep. I dont think it explains what happends when flanked.


Say a Horde is 10 by 50 with 1A each to keep it simple.

If flanked does the horde get 15 attacks or 10 for just two rows?

Do you need to have a block of infantry 10 by 10 strong to use the horde rule on the side?

Sorry if i've missed something.

Eternus
09-07-2010, 10:27
If I remember right, supporting attacks only count to the front, so a flanked Horde would only get attacks for models in base to base contact - I'm not sure how 'Step Up' affects this, because I haven't read that far yet.

Atrahasis
09-07-2010, 10:38
As Eternus says - SA are only allowed to the front.

Thinking of "Stepping Up" as a rule only leads to confusion. There is no such rule.

When you get to an initiative step, look at the combat and count the models that are in a position to attack. It's that simple.

Mr_Rose
09-07-2010, 10:40
Supporting attacks can only be used against foes to the front, whether they come from the normal second rank of attacks, wielding spears, or being a horde.

obsidianaura
09-07-2010, 10:44
Ah ha thanks, i wont be making a 100 strong unit of Bloodletters then :)

Mr_Rose
09-07-2010, 10:46
Ah ha thanks, i wont be making a 100 strong unit of Bloodletters then :)
Whilst we're on the subject; remember that supporting attacks are limited to 1/model regardless of your A value or other rules like frenzy.

Eternus
09-07-2010, 10:53
Whilst we're on the subject; remember that supporting attacks are limited to 1/model regardless of your A value or other rules like frenzy.

Except for Monstrous Creatures, which can contribute up to 3 Supporting Attacks I believe.

Atrahasis
09-07-2010, 11:09
Monstrous Infantry are the only models with that rule.

obsidianaura
09-07-2010, 13:07
Whilst we're on the subject; remember that supporting attacks are limited to 1/model regardless of your A value or other rules like frenzy.

Yeah I understand that bit, Bloodletters only get 1A anyway :(

Now i think about it though, do support attacks still special rules like Killing blow, and are they re-rollable with hatred?

Atrahasis
09-07-2010, 13:12
No reason why not.