PDA

View Full Version : Can A Slann use "The Focused Rumination" to cast with seven dice?



Nicha11
10-07-2010, 12:06
I am not sure he can, but here are the relevant entries.

Lizardmen army book

"The Focused Rumination

When The Slann casts a spell, a 'free' power dice is added to the attempt. This can cause the Slann Mage-Priest to roll more dice than normally allowed".

Emphasis mine.

In the 8th ed BRB under casting

", and a maximum of six dice can be used on each spell"

Strict RAW seems to suggest that he could infact use 7 dice to cast a spell.

Also the Lizardmen FAW doesn't clarify this at all the only thing related is:

"Q. Does the 'free' power dice gained from Focused Rumination count against the power limit?
A. Yes"

This however refers to the Power Limit, the maxium dice in the pool and not the maximum you can use to cast.

chivalrous
10-07-2010, 12:43
FAW = 'Frequently asked whinges' ;)

Assuming the FAQ hasn't been updated since you posted/last read it then I'm inclined to go with the RAW ruling, that army book states you can use more than normally allowed, with what is normally allowed being stated in the rulebook.