PDA

View Full Version : Gyrocopter march or fire?



jet_palero
10-07-2010, 21:58
With the new rules on flying, does that mean a gyrocopter must choose between marching and firing? I don't get my copy till tomorrow.

CrownAxe
10-07-2010, 22:39
You can march and shot now

Falkman
10-07-2010, 23:12
Skirmishers can march and shoot, normal troops can't.
There is nothing in the Gyrocopter rules, BRB rules or Dwarf FAQ that allows the Gyrocopter to march and shoot, therefore it can't.

Skyth
11-07-2010, 00:54
It's fast cav.

Falkman
11-07-2010, 01:03
No it's not.

Emearg
11-07-2010, 01:04
Where did you find something that say's the gyro is fast cav?

Looked through the rulebook, the army book and the errata's and I still haven't seen it listed that it's treated as such.

Tae
11-07-2010, 02:06
Edit - Ignore, mis-read rule :)

Falkman
11-07-2010, 02:09
No, it says that flying units consisting of more than one model are treated as skirmishers.
Since the Gyrocopter is not a unit of more than one model it is not a skirmisher.

jet_palero
11-07-2010, 04:26
No, it says that flying units consisting of more than one model are treated as skirmishers.
Since the Gyrocopter is not a unit of more than one model it is not a skirmisher.

wait, so if i buy one terradon, it can't march and fire, but if i buy two it can?:eyebrows:

edit: Well, nevermind then. Thanks Limkopi.

limkopi
11-07-2010, 05:50
Well, there is a minimum size of 3 for terradons.

Atrahasis
11-07-2010, 10:13
But if you kill 2 then it's a unit of 1, and so loses it's march-and-fire capability.

Lyynark
11-07-2010, 10:34
But if you kill 2 then it's a unit of 1, and so loses it's march-and-fire capability.

Now that's retarded...

Skyth
11-07-2010, 17:24
Ahhh...It's pseudo fast cav...Can move after fleeing a charge, but can't shoot.

Thane86
13-07-2010, 22:19
How do the psuedo fast cav rules work with the rulebook. They didn't address it in the FAQ.

So as I understand it reading all of the rule together, this means that the Gyrocopter can't march and shoot (i.e limited to 10 inch move in order to shoot).

According to the rulebook, fliers must use their ground movement for flee and pursuit moves because there isn't enough time to take off - but they do get to benefit from the swiftstride rule.

According to the dwarf book, the gyrocopter cannot move if it cannot fly. But if it flees as charge reaction and successfully regroups, it may move normally. So how does it flee?

My head hurts...

Malorian
13-07-2010, 22:22
Now that's retarded...

QFT


I just caught on to this as well...

At least with the vanguard move you should be able to get behind the enemy lines on turn 1, and after that 10 inches should be all you need.