PDA

View Full Version : Special weapon, Hand weapon shield, Additional Hand Weapon



J-Saku
11-07-2010, 02:20
It says when you use a special weapon, you can't use a hand weapon.

But does a hand weapon + shield count as a special weapon since it gives the parry bonus? (because it has a special rule?)

Also, additional hand weapon is also a "hand weapon" like hand weapon shield. But it is used as an example as a "special weapon"

Thanks guys~

mightyzombie
11-07-2010, 06:50
Correct. Any weapon that isn't a hand weapon is considered a Special Weapon. This includes 2 Hand Weapons. The reasoning being, I think, that it isn't A Hand Weapon, it's TWO hand weapons. However a Hand Weapon and Shield IS just a hand weapon, since the other thing (the shield) isn't a weapon at all. It's kind of a silly system at times, as is the new "no using hand weapons if you have a special weapon" garbage.

So if you have a Halberd, a Hand Weapon and a Shield, (or 2 Hand Weapons and a Shield) you will never be using that HW+Shield in combat, unless that halberd/additional hand weapon gets "destroyed" by some, as of yet, unexplained phenomenon.

Necromancy Black
11-07-2010, 07:32
Yep, anything listed in the section as a special weapon is indeed a special weapon. Hand weapon and shield is not a special weapon, it simply comes under a different rule (parry).

J-Saku
12-07-2010, 05:19
Ah okay, that's cool.

I'd rather be using the halberd 999/1000 times anyways.

Thanks guys.