PDA

View Full Version : Bretonnian ranks question



Aliarzathanil
12-07-2010, 16:36
So, the lance gets you a few extra attacks and some nifty rank bonus, but the rules state that only ranks of five models are counted for making you stubborn. So, in the case of a nine man knight unit charging five orcs, if the knights kill nothing (unlikely, sure) but win combat because of charging, are the orcs stubborn because the have more ranks of five models? Seems like the lance would be exceedingly poor at breaking infantry if this is the case. Or, does the lance rule let Bretonnians count three models across as a rank for this purpose too?

Dutch_Digger
12-07-2010, 17:09
whichever way it was intended, no clarification was given, so its fair to say this is a hole that has an obvious contradiction between the intent and the written rule.

The writer simply didnt think of the situation so there is no answer yet

Aliarzathanil
12-07-2010, 17:15
Well, crap. It's kind of a big deal. If lances basically need to wipe a unit they smash into down to four guys to prevent them from being stubborn, the lance really isn't worth it.

Aliarzathanil
12-07-2010, 17:22
Well, crap. It's kind of a big deal. If lances basically need to wipe a unit they smash into down to four guys to prevent them from being stubborn, the lance really isn't worth it.

Rolo Ramone
12-07-2010, 17:49
I think the lance formation works in the same way for ranks that the monstrous infantry. In the Army book is written in this way: "Knights in Lance formation form up into ranks only three models wide".