PDA

View Full Version : 2,500 points of Empire

Templar47
15-07-2010, 08:45
Well as my store is preparing for the escalation league, today I was challenged by some snotty little kid who who has just started playing Orc's to a battle this Friday to try out 8th edition. So after looking over my army, I wrote a a list and this is my first attempt so tell me what you guys think and I don't have the 8th edition rulebook yet so if you guys have any advice plz let me know.

*General:
-w/Griffon Mount, Full Plate Armor, Enchanted Shield, Lance, Pistol, Laurels of Victory

*BSB:
-w/AOMI, Sword of Might

*Wizard #1: (Lore of Fire)
-w/lvl. 2, dispel scroll

*Wizard: #2: (either Lore of Life or Lore of Metal)
-w/lvl. 2, rod of power

Warrior Priest:
-w/HW, Hvy. Armor, Shield

*Engineer:
-w/HW

*(30x) Spearmen: (5x6 formation, w/Wizard #2)
-w/Full Command
-Detachment of 15x Swordsmen
-Detachment of 10x Handgunners

*(30x) Spearmen: (5x6 formation, w/Wizard #1)
-w/Full Command
-Detachment of 10x Handgunners

*(35x) Halberds: (7x5 formation, w/Warrior Priest)
-w/Full Command

*(10x) Crossbows

*(19x) Teutogen Guard (aka GS, w/BSB)

*Great Cannon:

*Great Cannon:

*Hellstorm Rocket Battery:

Total: 2,473 points

Now as you can see, I have some points left over so if anyone has any advice on what to use them for I'd appreciate the help

thesheriff
15-07-2010, 09:22
I thought the cap on detachments was 10-strong, might need to check that. This makes combat detatchments for breaking ranks not that good. A canny player will harm the detachments to stop them negating the ranks, then soften up the big unit. swap the swordsmen for handgunners for as much supporting fire shots as possible. 20 shots, then the massive unit of spearmen will be more than enough to deal with most combat units.

With that, and the left over points, maybe a mortar would be recomended for a large template with a bit more accuracy than a hellstrom.

but, nice list, good idea.

thesheriff

Lord Solar Plexus