PDA

View Full Version : Reaction from Multiple charges



hellboy13
19-07-2010, 08:18
BRB gives an example of an High Elves unit having to react to 3 charges. The unit decides to hold for the fist charge, stand and shoot for the 2nd, and flee for the third.
How can the unit flee from the 3rd charge, if they are already holding for the first charge?

Can you explain how this scenario would play out, presuming the chargers has rolled ok for chage distance?

Ta
Cmw

Atrahasis
19-07-2010, 08:28
The chargers don't roll for charge distance until well after charge reactions.

I suggest you have another good read of the section, because you fundamentally misunderstand the sequence.

Ultimate Life Form
19-07-2010, 08:31
Uhm... because the rules just above the example allow it?

Scenario works as follows: all charges have been declared. HE chose Flee! as a charge reaction. They roll 2D6 and flee from the Black Orcs. After that all three charging units roll their charging distance to see if they catch them (or get a failed charge).

Blekinge
19-07-2010, 08:49
The sequence is quite complex

First, the goblins declare charge.
The high elves declare charge reaction hold.
The wolf riders declare charge.
The high elves declare stand and shoot.
Stand and shoot is resolved.
The black orcs declare charge.
The high elves declare flee.
The Black orcs can now test LD for redirect.

When all charges have been declared, roll for distance. Since the high elves did not flee the goblins or the wolf riders, those units will not be able to test for redirect, and must attempt to catch the fleeing high elves. The black orcs can redirect, because their target fled THEM.