PDA

View Full Version : Character with great weapon, hand weapon and shield?



Gorthor21
21-07-2010, 22:52
Pretty simple, in 8th edition, does a character have the ability to switch out between great weapon and hand weapon and shield?

Paraelix
21-07-2010, 22:57
Must use a non Hand Weapon if one is equipped. So no.

Ovassilias
22-07-2010, 06:47
No, he uses the shield if he is being shot at, but in close combat he MUST use the great weapon.

T10
22-07-2010, 08:26
The reason for this is that the great weapon is a "special" weapon. The bearer is assumed to have trained and to be most comfortable with this weapon. Thus the model will use the special weapon instead of his hand weapon as long as the special weapon is available to him.

Magic weapons still take priority, though.

Presumably a model armed with multiple special weapons can choose between them.

Also, some models have special rules for which weapons they carry, e.g. Dwarf Slayers and Black Orcs. These grant explicit permission to choose among the available options.

-T10

slasher
22-07-2010, 11:45
Another exception to that is if your Bet's in which case you still get to charge with a mundane lance then switch to your magic weapon in subsequent rounds (or if charged) as per their army book - cant rember the pg number but it's the start of the magic items section.

xeon84
22-07-2010, 12:02
Didn't know you can use a shield against ranged attack when not in close combat and a greatweapon but no shield in close combat. Handy on by HE Noble with GW, now with shield too ;)

Paraelix
22-07-2010, 21:17
No, he uses the shield if he is being shot at, but in close combat he MUST use the great weapon.

Given the OP was asking about the ability to "Switch out" I concluded that he was in fact asking specifically about the constraints of HtH combat.

wilsongrahams
22-07-2010, 22:32
Either way, the Great Weapon has to be used in Combat, as there is no option to change to another weapon when using a 'special' one. Only if you have a special rule allowing you to do so may you select what you wish to use for that phase - there is even an example of this in the rule book specifically stating that you cannot use the hand weapon and shield in combat when you have another weapon but you do get the shield's bonus to your armour save against ranged attacks as stated above. This also means that you not only do not get the 'parry' save in combat but no +1 save either as you are not equipping the shield.

Col. Dash
23-07-2010, 00:35
Using a cheap throwaway shield has precedence in real life historical combat as well for troops with big weapons to protect them from arrows. It makes perfect sense for units armed with shields and great weapons to using the shield while closing and switch to great weapon to fight.