PDA

View Full Version : BSBs and Challenges/Terror & Panic/Hatred & Mounts



lcfr
23-07-2010, 00:34
Hope these Qs haven't been brought up already in the forum, here goes anyways:

1. If a BSB refuses a challenge and his unit subsequently loses combat, does the unit enjoy the benefits of the Battle Standard? Similarly, if the BSB carries a magic banner (say...the Beast Banner or something like the Standard of Nagarythe...) and cowers in the back rank, does the unit continue to reap the benefits of his items?

I have seen nowhere in the rulebook that states that abilities conferred to a unit by a character are lost by said character refusing a challenge, only that the unit cannot benefit from his LD.

2. The rules for Terror state that units charged by a Terror-causing enemy must take a Panic test...does this imply that units like Longbeards (or units w/in range of the Old Grumblers special rule) or Warriors of Chaos (Will of Chaos re-rolls) may re-roll failed 'Panic/Terror' tests, or may in fact be immune to it altogether?

3. If a Chariot model has the Hatred special rule (or Primal Fury...), do the mounts pulling the machine enjoy the benefits of it as well? The rules don't suggest otherwise, but it seems common for folk to claim that they do not (I blame the rumours sub-forum... :shifty:).

Similarly, in the case of cavalry, how are we to know when the Frenzy rule is meant to apply to the rider and not the mount? Chaos Knights with the Mark of Khorne, for example...is it self-evident that only the knights themselves are marked, etc.?

Thanks for the patience all.

Paraelix
23-07-2010, 00:44
2. Yes they are immune/reroll.
3. No. Not unless the mount has the rule or the rule itself stipulate that the mount may benefit. Eg; Dark Elf Eternal Hatred stipulates in the AB that it effects the mount.

However, others are not so clear- Khorne Knights, as it doesn't state that you mark the rider, rather that you mark the model. >_> FAQ?

lcfr
23-07-2010, 00:49
2. Yes they are immune/reroll.
3. No. Not unless the mount has the rule or the rule itself stipulate that the mount may benefit. Eg; Dark Elf Eternal Hatred stipulates in the AB that it effects the mount.

However, others are not so clear- Khorne Knights, as it doesn't state that you mark the rider, rather that you mark the model. >_> FAQ?

Isn't the Eternal Hatred disputable (haven't seen the delf faq, however)? Since the rule 'reminds' us that mounts always enjoy the benefits of Hatred...i.e. it 'reminds us' that 7th edition used a different set of rules?

Paraelix
23-07-2010, 02:57
Nothing in the FAQ, and AB trumps BRB. Irregardless of the word "remember", it still tells you that it applies to mounts... Until they later FAQ it to be otherwise.

Besides it fits the fluff. Delves are evil and like to torture things. Tortured mounts are kinda gonna hate things...