PDA

View Full Version : 1500 Skaven

=][= Lord
25-07-2010, 18:42
Hey there, I'm very new to fantasy and I have yet to play a game in the 8th ed so all advice is welcomed.

Grey Seer 270
Skalm

Chieftain 77
Halberd, enchanted shield, BSB

3x 25 clan rats 165 ea.
Shields, musician, ratling gun

20 slaves 42
musician

29 Stormvermin 307
shields, full command Storm Banner (chieftain goes here)

21 giant rats 77
2packmasters

Hellpit 235

So tell me what you think, I am not sold on the grey seer though i like the model a lot.

Clanrat
25-07-2010, 19:55
Hello

Grey seers are very useful, and skalm is one of the better items to give him, however, he will certainly need a ward save too so id go for some form of talisman save. Oh, and make sure you put him in a unit, otherwise he WILL die quickly.

Skaven magic is really good, as you dont have a engineer or a plague priest id suggest splitting your spell rolls 2 f ruin, 2 of plague (try and get wither, its really useful) to give a pretty useful selection of spells.

Think very carefully before trying the dreaded 13th however....

On the one hand, its really difficult to cast, will generally be looking at a 6 dice attempt, and could inflict a measly 4 wounds, and when you do cast it, its more than likely you`ve cast with IF so you`ll then have the miscast to worry about

on the other, picking the best targets can really work wonders..i tend to go for units such as swordmasters or other small elites, as turning these guys into clanrats tends to be easier due to them normally being in smaller units and really is worth the look on your opponents face.

This also applies to the Bsb...these two are gonna keep your cowardly little ratmen actually fighting, so your gonna want to keep em alive :)

considering your own lack of firepower, the storm banner is a very good choice as itll certainly help with getting your troops across they board reasonably safely.