PDA

View Full Version : New to fantasy. High elves or Bretonnians?

undeadyotsuba
27-07-2010, 12:47
Hey guys I'm quite new in fantasy,but I came from 40k where I played Tyranids.
Now I'm posting this on my friends account because I'm just too lazy to make my own so I'm going to ask you a couple of things.

1.I want a tacticlly challenging army which I actually need to use my brain and improvise if something happens.
2.I like both the model ranges so I will be willing to pick either one up but I really just want to know which one is less cheese well because I can't stand cheese my self.
3.Are bretonnians just a click and charge army? Because I really like tactics and if they are that simplistc urgh :evilgrin:.
4.Now what has changed for Bretonnians in 8th edition? Because I know that alot of people are whining about High elves so what has changed for both of them?

Von Wibble
27-07-2010, 13:10
High elves certainly fit point 1. Some people are (wrongly) whining that high elves now reroll to hit and strike first against most foes. They are also very expensive in points and as fragile as ever, especially with step up attacks in play. If you don't engage the enemy on the right terms you will not get away with it, whilst other armies can to a greater degree.

Brets used to be point and click but I think they are a lot more tactically diverse now. Just don't take all knights- give peasants a try. Their shooting phase is arguably the best in the game after dwarfs and empire (its certainly better than the high elf one)

Imo neither army is cheese currently. The only thing that might sway your view towards one or the other is that high elves are due a whole load of plastic models soon, first in the isle of blood set and then a load of plastics in october. Otoh it is unlikely the brest will get anything until the next edition of their army book, and I can't see that happening for at least another year.

Lord of the End Times
27-07-2010, 14:08
Well, here's what I think: