PDA

View Full Version : Dangerous terrain army

snaketrap
07-08-2010, 05:37
So I've been playing 40K again for a few months after 10 years away, and having a lot of fun. After about 20 games I've noticed that while Hive Guard, Nob Bikers and Chimera spam may be deadly, the thing that by far has caused the most wounds in my games has been Dangerous Terrain. That stuff is deadly!

Is there any way to field an army of Dangerous Terrain? I'm thinking something like 3 ruins, a leaky plasma reactor, some quicksand and a cactus in a 750 point game, with a tooled up fire swamp and some deep striking flaming Thunderhawk remains at 1500.

Do you think that this would be a viable tournament build? Could it take Thunderwolf Calv and Bloodangel Landraider spam? Should I ally with Demon Hunters so I can take Mystics and the good Psychic Hood?

lumiya
07-08-2010, 09:12
Hmmm, not a bad army concept. I think you might need a squad of tank traps for some dedicated anti-tank firepower, but other than that, it looks pretty balanced.

:D

deacon52
07-08-2010, 09:37
but remember to chuck some transports in there for that much needed mobility.

everything has a 4+ cover save as well, unless of course the cactus is fortified. so even better

Thud
07-08-2010, 09:41
I'd give each of those ruins Razorbacks for mobility and extra fire power.

Angelwing
07-08-2010, 09:59
I think I'll wait for someone to do the math hammer before I commit to buying this netlist. :p

deacon52
07-08-2010, 10:04
if your going to tool up the fire swamp, i would take vulkan. he also makes those flaming thunderhawks twin linked, as well as the 3 ruins mastercrafted.

ForgottenLore
07-08-2010, 10:44
but remember to chuck some transports in there for that much needed mobility.

For transports, I think a few avalanches would be the way to go.

Bunnahabhain
07-08-2010, 11:11