PDA

View Full Version : How young is too young?

Oglog
09-08-2010, 17:49
i think this goes in general, but sorry if I have got it wrong.

With the island of blood coming out in less than a month, which is about the time of my brother's birthday, I was wondering if I could have an opinion from you guys about what sort of age is right for getting into the hobby. I am 15 and i have been painting minis from games workshop for at least 6 years. My brother is about to turn 8, and is starting to show an interest in some of my modelling, painting and battles. I even bought him his own brush and he has painted about 3 of my models, to a surprisingly good standard (for not even an 8 y/o). Have you had any experiences with youngsters in the hobby, and despite the fact that coupling his birthday and the release time of the new edition being conveniently close, do you still think he is too young?

My brother is quite mature for his age, both physically and mentally, and has a decent patience span and I'm certain his mental capactiy could cope with Warhammer rules. It would be a lovley thing to do, sitting down with him and assembling and painting a box with him (one army each-he seems to like the skaven which means I get that griffon to convert for my brets:D).

The dangers are obviously safety with glue, paint and potentially sharp tools (not too worried about if I supervise him, plus he seems quite sensible). I am more worried about that if I start him too young he could get frustrated (like me, he is a perfectionist) and be unsatisfied. A bad experience at this age could put him off the hobby for years to come.

This is a hard one and any imput would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers
/oglog:cheese:

Draeven
09-08-2010, 17:58
Well, if he is old enough to paint with you i wouldn't see an issue with him being old enough to play as long as you keep the rules simple and introduce the harder more complex rules as you go.