PDA

View Full Version : Can a wizard cast if he/his unit is in combat?



Tonberry
17-08-2010, 09:04
If the wizard charged on this turn, or is in an ongoing combat, can he still cast spells out of combat?

The rules say which spells can/can't be cast into combat, but I can't find anything saying whether he can cast out of it?

Loopstah
17-08-2010, 09:07
A wizard can not cast spells if he is fleeing or not on the battlefield.

Also a wizard may not cast magic missiles if he or his unit are in close combat.

They are the only restrictions on when a wizard can cast a spell so Direct Damage, Magical Vortex, Hex and Augment spells may be cast while the wizard is in close combat.

Damocles8
17-08-2010, 14:24
You can't cast Direct Damage spells into close combat either

BrotherNefarius
17-08-2010, 14:41
actually you can cast DD damage in CC, only your facing is restricted since you can't turn and you can't target the unit you are attacking since it is in melee, but you could target a unit beyond the one you are fighting, providing it isn't engaged in melee and is within your forward arc.

Damocles8
17-08-2010, 15:22
actually you can cast DD damage in CC, only your facing is restricted since you can't turn and you can't target the unit you are attacking since it is in melee, but you could target a unit beyond the one you are fighting, providing it isn't engaged in melee and is within your forward arc.

No you can't, read the rules again, the 4 bulleted targeting restrictions are NOT overriden in the description of Direct Damage spells.

Citadel97501
17-08-2010, 19:54
No you can't, read the rules again, the 4 bulleted targeting restrictions are NOT overriden in the description of Direct Damage spells.

Your incorrect Damocles8, on page 32 it states you can't cast spells into close combat, so you could legitimately cast a Direct damage spell out of a combat into another unit that is not engaged, as long as its in your front arc, and in range.