PDA

View Full Version : 3k throgg/monster army

peterjameslewis711
17-08-2010, 10:30
Hi guys, im new to 8th ed (still not played a game yet) but im hearing all the major things about it and i just wondered if throggs monster army would still be feasable as a good army.......

Lords......

Galrauch (apparently its all about the lv4's,lol)

Heroes.......

Throgg

core.......

5 trolls (insert throgg here)

6 trolls
6 trolls
6 trolls
6 trolls
6 trolls

rare...

Shaggoth
Shaggoth
total comes to 2896

I want to have an army of mass mutated monsters, was thinking of swapping a shaggoth for a giant and using the extra points saved and the 104 spare to get some more trolls for throggs unit, but i dunno, thought id ask you seers advice........

Thanks in advance.

TheKingInYellow
17-08-2010, 15:34
I love this list. Who cares how competitive it is, it's all about the theme.

I'd keep the Shaggoths though, the Giant doesn't do much for me. If you wanted to save some points, you could always go for a L4 Demon Prince instead of Galrauch. Galrauch without a BSB worries me a bit, his super-stupidity rule is potentially game-ending.

theSkullduggery1
17-08-2010, 16:13
I think it would be lots of fun to play, until you face a shooting unit that has flaming attacks...I know HE have an archery unit that can take a magical banner, then if they go horde formation you could be looking at 30 shots that will be very hard to avoid.

But with 6 units of Regen, I don't think you'd have to be too scarred of flaming banner in a combat unit...most of your units could avoid the flaming banner.

39 models in a 3000 pt game, very small, yet very scary.

peterjameslewis711
17-08-2010, 21:44
Just thinking how many monsters makes a horde? could use some of the points and another unit of trolls to make throggs unit a horde which could be fun.........

sergentzimm
18-08-2010, 04:23
wow that would be fun. I think a dp would be fun as well.

Malladorin
18-08-2010, 09:12