PDA

View Full Version : Skaven rules Questions



bfeijter
17-08-2010, 13:32
Sorry but i have another few questions about the rules :s

1 - Skaven slavers are expendable, and may be fired on while they are in close combat with an enemy unit
How does this work with template weapons i.e. a warpfire thrower??

2 - Giant rats have the "wave of rats" rule. do they fight in 3 ranks now that all models can fight in 2 ranks?
Can de packmaster whip reach over an extra rank?

3 - Verminous valor alows you to decline a challange and lead from the back.
Can skaven leaders be placed at the back of the unit to start with.
Or do they have to get challenged first?

thanks in advance

Infurion
17-08-2010, 13:39
1. I think you randomize 1-3 own, 4-6 enemy unit for each hit.
2. No
3. They have to be challenged first.

qwertycg
17-08-2010, 13:57
1 - Skaven slavers are expendable, and may be fired on while they are in close combat with an enemy unit
How does this work with template weapons i.e. a warpfire thrower??

Yes you randomize or I just like to burn my unit with out hitting the other unit haha.

2 - Giant rats have the "wave of rats" rule. do they fight in 3 ranks now that all models can fight in 2 ranks?
Can de packmaster whip reach over an extra rank?

They fight only in 2 ranks(sucks I know but they get their FULL attacks in the 2nd rank) As for pack masters I am not sure if their whips can reach over alot of ranks but maybe I have to read in on that.

3 - Verminous valor alows you to decline a challange and lead from the back.
Can skaven leaders be placed at the back of the unit to start with.
Or do they have to get challenged first?

Challenged first.

larabic
17-08-2010, 14:36
With template weapons what ever is hit is hit, no randomizing that i know of.

Gallock
17-08-2010, 15:15
1 - Skaven slavers are expendable, and may be fired on while they are in close combat with an enemy unit
How does this work with template weapons i.e. a warpfire thrower??

Yes you randomize or I just like to burn my unit with out hitting the other unit haha.

2 - Giant rats have the "wave of rats" rule. do they fight in 3 ranks now that all models can fight in 2 ranks?
Can de packmaster whip reach over an extra rank?

They fight only in 2 ranks(sucks I know but they get their FULL attacks in the 2nd rank) As for pack masters I am not sure if their whips can reach over alot of ranks but maybe I have to read in on that.

3 - Verminous valor alows you to decline a challange and lead from the back.
Can skaven leaders be placed at the back of the unit to start with.
Or do they have to get challenged first?

Challenged first.

Hi, I might be reading it wrong but:

1. The errata removed all text about randomising hits.(Page 36 – Expendable
Delete the last two sentences.)

2. The errata replaces wave of rats text with "“Giant Rats have the
Fight in Extra Ranks special rule, except that they fight with an
extra rank even in the turn they charge.” So three ranks?

mariote
17-08-2010, 15:20
+1 to gallock, all those rules are updated in the latest faq.

JonnyTHM
17-08-2010, 15:27
Gallock is correct here.

Errata took care of all of these issues, and the answer to 3 is a solid 'no you have to place them in the front rank'.

The one thing to add is that packmasters did not have their rule changed. Luckily it already stated that they could attack over 3 ranks of giant rats, so you can still have those attacks along with 3 ranks of rats. It's interesting to note that since it didn't change that they can't attack over 2 ranks of rat ogres, which is unfortunate.

mariote
17-08-2010, 18:49
mmmm so, i was thinking if the faq about slaves says to ignore the "random" rule to see who you shoot, how it's supposed to be resolved then?

Rogzor87
17-08-2010, 18:55
you just hit the enemy now and don't kill the slaves.