PDA

View Full Version : Cadian 98th Armoured Regiment

undeadair
05-03-2006, 02:41
Hello everyone.

I'm new to this forum, so I hope I'll eventually get to know some of you people by the time this is all over. :) I love the blog scheme of the painting forum, keeping things nice and tidy and giving me an incentive to complete projects on time to make sure the blog stays updated!

So perhaps I should explain what I'm doing here:

I started painting miniatures/playing 40k in October of 2004. Ever since I started I've wanted nothing more than an Imperial Guard army, but on the advice of the people at the game store, I made my first army Ultramarines. Looking back on it, I'm glad I did since I had no idea what I was doing and I had to learn how to paint anyway! I likely would have given up if I had 100 guardsmen to paint back then.

Finally being set on starting my Guard army, the next step was to figure out what kind of regiment I wanted. I knew I wanted to use the plastic Cadian models and I knew I wanted to paint a military style with muted greens, greys, and tans. So immediately I thought of the Cadian 8th. Too standard perhaps? Yeah, but I'm a fluff dunce, so I just stuck with it at first.

After reading through my Imperial Armour Vol 1, I decided to go with the Cadian 98th. The Luxor Uprising colors fit the scheme I was going for perfectly and it was obscure enough to make it interesting and I could tell my own story with the army.

I've started this army with a mechanized list... probably not the greatest list in the world either, however It would allow me to get some tank painting practice in as well as paint up a smaller amount of guardsmen to get them on the table more quickly. Then when I had a painted army I could play with, I could paint many more guardsman for a more balanced list while still having fun playing.