PDA

View Full Version : Charging/Flee reaction and running of the table



Warboss Doink
23-08-2010, 15:36
Quick question. My apologies if it has been asked before. (The used values are examples)

1) A charging unit starts in range of a fleeing unit (4") and declares a charge
2) The target declares a flee.
3) The target rolls 5" for it's flee move, which makes it tough move over the table egde.
4) The charger rolls 7" (6 and 1) and adds it's movement of 4", making it's roll more than the fleeing units roll.

Where does the charging end up?
a) 6" forward (failed charge)
b) The position the fleeing unit started at (4" forward)
c) The table egde (and being allowed a reform (with LD test)
d) Off the table, returning next turn.

Bloody Nunchucks
23-08-2010, 16:00
failed charge, so 6" forward.

T10
23-08-2010, 16:04
First off: To determine if the chargers catch a fleeing unit you measure to see if the charge range is sufficient to reach the target: You don't just compare the flee roll and the charge distance roll.

The rules don't directly address the situation where a target unit "disappears" before the chargers get to move into contact: The closest thing here may be the general "Unusual Situations (p. 22)" which deals with the possibility of otherwise valid charges failing due to unforseen circumstance. Here the general rule is to treat it as a failed charge.

-T10

Warboss Doink
23-08-2010, 16:31
Thx for the quick anwser guys.

Yrrdead
23-08-2010, 19:31
You declare a charge.

He declares his reaction which is Flee.

He resolves his reaction which is to Flee off the table.

At this point you could Redirect your charge.

You would then repeat this process with every other unit that you wish to declare a charge with.

After all charges have been declared and all charge reactions have been resolved only then would you roll charge distance and move chargers, one at a time.

Warboss Doink
24-08-2010, 06:03
You declare a charge.

He declares his reaction which is Flee.

He resolves his reaction which is to Flee off the table.

At this point you could Redirect your charge.

You would then repeat this process with every other unit that you wish to declare a charge with.

After all charges have been declared and all charge reactions have been resolved only then would you roll charge distance and move chargers, one at a time.

That I understood.

The question was (in short): 'if you roll higher, for an un-redirected charge on an enemy that feld the board, than the fleeing enemy rolled + the starting distance, would it be a failed charge or would you end up off the table, because that would be the point where you woule catch the fleeing enemy'.

But we already got the anwser. ;)