PDA

View Full Version : Rules Right & Wrongs

RanaldLoec
24-08-2010, 00:04
Ok this is not a whine itís a chance to find out other players approach to settling rules and any disputes. That may arise during a game or on the Rule Forum.

I've been playing Warhammer since 1992 so I've spent a decent amount of time reading, learning and getting rules WRONG.

I will happily admit to getting rules wrong some times I read them too quickly and assume I understand how it works, normally army specific rules for armies I don't play or collect.

I tend to find that any rules disputes that arise during a game very easy to deal with, normally itís just a matter of reading the relevant part of the army book or BRB.

If that fails ''the most important rule'' kicks in we roll a dice, most my opponents range between 20 and 40 so itís a more mature approach to the hobby.

The other kind of rules disputes are on Warseer, I think we can all agree that the most hotly discussed or argumentative threads appear in the Rules Forum.

I used to fight my corner fanatically on rules interpretation in my hot headed hormonal teens; I do some times slip back into old habits even though Iím very close to 30 years old.

What I some times find strange on the rules Forum is when a rules thread may get resolved by a FAQ or ERRATA that people were generally unaware of being brought to the Warseer community attention.

I then some times read responses from those members who may have argued strongly for an interpretation that is proven incorrect by the FAQ and these responses tend to be some attempt to belittle the poster of the FAQ or a sarcastic parting comment to some how reassert the dominance of the member whose point of view has been invalidated.