PDA

View Full Version : FML Army?

Bakdoi
25-08-2010, 17:17
I am new to Warhammer finding it to be an adjustment to 40k play style. I have started with Beastmen and am enjoying them however as I am starting to look at my second army I am stuck looking for one that is loads of laughs to play. As beastmen have crap at range I would like to find an army has this with magic or shooting but will lead me to those FML moments were I have to just stair and laugh. I have been told Skaven and Orcs are good at this but no one can give me reasons or examples. Anyone?

Brother captain Agrippa
25-08-2010, 17:30
i think its because some of the O&G and skaven stuff have 50-50 percent chance of being godlike or just plain sucky.
such as the skaven warp lightning cannon, it rolls an artillery dice for its strenght, meaning its somewhere between strenght 10 (godlike) or 2 (sucky).
and animosity for orcs, while not as often, it has equal chance of saving you that charge as it has stopping you dead in your tracks, just waiting for the enemy.
just my thoughts

Lupercus
25-08-2010, 17:31
I can speak for greenskins in this regard. In my collection, I have 2 Rock Lobbers and 2 Doom Diver Catapults, and let me tell you, in 8th edition, they're both awesome. In fact, I can include all 4 of those war machines in an army for a mere 310 points, and that's including the Orc Bullies for the Rock Lobbers.

Doom Divers in particular are quite awesome, I've found. Basically you have Rock Lobbers(which are your typical stone thrower) for taking out massed blocks of enemy infantry, and Doom Divers for more surgical(believe it or not...) strikes at more heavily armoured elite infantry or cavalry..or, actually, whatever you'd like to die messily and horribly.

Not only that, but if you're looking for some sick laughs, Orcs and Goblins are very much the way to go. They're huge, brutal, psychotic children, really, that get a kick out of pain and death...I'm not sure how much more fun one could have.