PDA

View Full Version : My lizards vs ogres, help me please

Ninja1761
26-08-2010, 11:34
hi ther!
my friend is picking up ogres after a few empire games, and i need to tailor my lizards to him.
i have limited experience with my lizards, a couple of games (would have won the second if he didn't blast my slann with purple sun)
ne way, i have part of a list, 1750 points

Slann
focus mystery
focus rumnation
cuupped hands
bsb

Saurus 20
standard

Saurus 20
standard

Skink skirmishers 15
javalins

Skink skirmishers 15
javalins

Temple guard - 20
muso
standard

that does leave about 330 points left, and i don't know what to do with the others
i'm tempted for more skinks, or maybe two scarvets to boost the two saurus units.
maybe some krox's or cold cavelry

maybe get the revered guardian with hornet sword

also, i'm throwing up between fire or light on my slann

remember... ogres

thanks for the help

Ninja1761

Ninja1761
26-08-2010, 12:22
guys please, i need help
don't leave me out to dry

Napalm
26-08-2010, 12:24
Well I don't know much about lizards, but I fight often against ogres.
They're not numerous, but very strong: high toughness, lots of wounds (but low armour).
Not so fast, but they still can hit you hard, especially in V8 with the new monster rules, and the trampling thing.

Their magic is not so powerful but have ridiculously low casting cost, and is mostly buffs for their own unit or regeneration for the characters. It's annoying when the almost dead general heals each time you're close to kill it.

So you need to be aggressive.
Do you have chameleon skinks? Poison could be great, no to wound roll.
Do you have a big saurus with a bolt thrower? Should be handy.
Heavy weapons or big creature is a must.

Beware of: cannibals. They can hit you pretty hard in the back, they cause fear.
If he plays Skrag, they can be numerous (specials instead of rare) and even more powerful.

Napalm
26-08-2010, 12:31