PDA

View Full Version : Starting an Empire Army.. What should I start with?

Kiras of the flame
27-08-2010, 23:52
so I'm trying to get into fantasy, so I've decided to stand with the empire (a nice change of pace from the Orkz of 40k....)

one problem is that I'm unsure on how to gear these people since I'm new to the Fantasy scene I'm not so sure how I should go with arming my men and heroes... or how I should take on the enemy (I'm thinking of a mix between artillery and getting stuck in the thick of all things

one last thing, I want to use the Empire general and the standard bearer in my army since I think the plastic set for them looks awesome. How should I gear the both of them?

thanks for helping (or at least checking this post)

Ultimate Life Form
28-08-2010, 00:03
We have no strict WYSIWYG here (thank god) and are fairly liberal when it comes to modelling and representing. The general idea is that as long as it's plausible and you can see what it is supposed to be pretty much everything goes, especially on characters. There is no need to freak out over equipment. For example standard bearer and musician models will typically not have weapons, but it doesn't matter as the rules state that all models in a unit must be armed the same. Therefore it also doesn't matter if some of the soldiers sport unfitting equipment, because the rules require them to be identical and as long as we see what type of unit it is we're fine.

Characters can be outfitted with various magic items that are only revealed to your opponent upon use and otherwise secret, so modelling them doesn't make much sense (especialy as we sometimes like changing equipment between battles). Basically speaking a standard character
model as supplied by GW will suffice under any and all circumstances for each and all purposes.