PDA

View Full Version : Reroll to wound and breath weapon



Toddums
28-08-2010, 21:31
Sorry if this is a dumb question, but can you reroll to wound (assuming you have the ability via hatred or what have you) wounds caused by your breath attack?

Ultimate Life Form
28-08-2010, 21:34
Since when does hatred let you reroll to wound? But yeah, if you can reroll you do just that, you... reroll... to wound.

T10
28-08-2010, 22:09
I don't think so. Each breath weapon has a specific effect "per hit", and any other effects applicable to close combat attacks (e.g. killing blow) do not carry over.

-T10

Taureus
28-08-2010, 22:15
I don't think so. Each breath weapon has a specific effect "per hit", and any other effects applicable to close combat attacks (e.g. killing blow) do not carry over.

-T10

Unless you were buffed with something that did allow you to re-roll wounds...

If such a spell/whatever exists...

tmarichards
28-08-2010, 22:42
Nope, breath weapons do not benefit from special rules that the model has.

So I can't make my hydra's breath weapon armour piercing :(

It's in the rulebook FAQ, same goes for Thunderstomp.

Toddums
28-08-2010, 23:10
Nope, breath weapons do not benefit from special rules that the model has.

So I can't make my hydra's breath weapon armour piercing :(

It's in the rulebook FAQ, same goes for Thunderstomp.


Ah thank you.


Oh yea, Not sure why I said hatred. Gomene

Ultimate Life Form
28-08-2010, 23:10
Ah, yes. Forgot the FAQ. So screw the rerolls. I still have to get used to the new edition...

Taureus
29-08-2010, 05:22
Nope, breath weapons do not benefit from special rules that the model has.

So I can't make my hydra's breath weapon armour piercing :(

It's in the rulebook FAQ, same goes for Thunderstomp.

Except that spells are not part of the Special Rules section of the Rulebook.

And there is a spell that allows re-rolls to wound if I am not mistaken (I don't have the rulebook right here in front of me to check).

And the FAQ does not address Breath Weapons/Stomps/Thunderstomps vs. spells.

Dutch_Digger
29-08-2010, 08:32
Harmonic Convergence, Heavens lore re-roll all "To Wound" rolls (of 1).
No idea if it is intended to work on a bad breath, doesnt seem cheesy to me though

T10
29-08-2010, 09:36
If you have an effect that would normally apply to the breath weapon as a shooting attack, then it will also apply when using the breath weapon in close combat. Seems pretty straight forward to me.

-T10