PDA

View Full Version : Wight kings telling vampires who is boss



Malorian
01-09-2010, 14:14
So if I have this right...

-The part in the VC book were a vampier has to be your general is out
-The model with the highest LD has to be your general
-Wight kings are LD 10 while vampires are LD 7

So in a list with no vampire lord, but has a vampire and a wight king, the wight king would be the general?

Ultimate Life Form
01-09-2010, 14:16
Your deduction is flawless. This has been discussed before. The question is if it was intended by GW for the 'Vampire General' rule to become obsolete, but as things stand, it is.

BTW wouldn't that mean that when you have a Lord you can still choose?

Edit: no, because Wight King is Ld9.

Malorian
01-09-2010, 14:20
Sure would :)


It certainly would take the pressure off the combat vampire lord if some wight king was the general instead of them.

Taureus
01-09-2010, 14:28
Banner of Discipline shenanigans!

...Did I really just say that... :shifty:

Pariah1
01-09-2010, 14:34
Clear case of AB overiding BRB here

Olyphant
01-09-2010, 14:40
I tinkered with the idea of a wight army... it sounded rather cool, but limited.

No marching, no vampiric powers, you need nercro's to do any res'ing.

Ultimate Life Form
01-09-2010, 14:41
Erratum trumps Army Book (obviously).

Slayerthane
01-09-2010, 14:42
I tinkered with the idea of a wight army... it sounded rather cool, but limited.

No marching, no vampiric powers, you need nercro's to do any res'ing.

Might as well do a TK army in this case....;)

Little Joe
01-09-2010, 15:14
It was also already stated, that you can make the wight king your BSB so he can't be your general. Therefore you can still have the vampire lead without a lord.

CaliforniaGamer
01-09-2010, 16:05
Good, I thought it was ridiculous a 3 wound, toughness 5 heavily armored wight king with killing blow no less was made to play the gimp by 2W/4T Vampire thralls...

Vampire Counts 2.0: "Rise of the Wight Kings"

Saldiven
01-09-2010, 17:38
If a Wight King was your general and he died, you'd still have to worry about crumbling, right?

Tomalock
01-09-2010, 17:42
Yeah the entire section about the general dying only refers to the "general" and never specificies it has to be a vampire general for the army to start to crumble (although Vamps, Characters, etc are still immune to the tests).

Taureus
01-09-2010, 18:05
It was also already stated, that you can make the wight king your BSB so he can't be your general. Therefore you can still have the vampire lead without a lord.

Yes you could do this, but a Vampire could as easily be the BSB.

Nowhere in the VC book is an army required to use a Vampire hero/lord as their General...

ChrisIronBrow
01-09-2010, 18:16
Banner of Discipline shenanigans!

...Did I really just say that... :shifty:

Bwahahahaha,

Look out, the VC are gonna make their break tests on LD 11.... oh, wait..

McBaine
01-09-2010, 19:30
No marching,
This is not the first time I read this. You sure can march with a wight king as your general. The rule says you can march in 12" of the general or 6" of a vampire. If the wight king is general you can march in 12" around him.