PDA

View Full Version : Stacking



Dragoon999
01-09-2010, 16:52
could someone please direct me to FAQ's or conclusions as to stacking

Simply put, if 2 magic items do the same thing + or - and have the same value (say +1 or -1)do they stack

If so where is there an example of this in the rulebook or FAQ. thanks

TheKingInYellow
01-09-2010, 17:38
Unless a specific rule says otherwise (i.e. Mark of Tzeentch stacking with ward saves), nothing stacks *except* extra attack.

Tae
01-09-2010, 17:43
Unless a specific rule says otherwise (i.e. Mark of Tzeentch stacking with ward saves), nothing stacks *except* extra attack.

And armour saves.

Loopstah
01-09-2010, 17:43
And fight in extra ranks rules.

Lungboy
01-09-2010, 17:46
And MR with ward saves.

NixonAsADaemonPrince
01-09-2010, 17:47
And boxes.

Dragoon999
01-09-2010, 17:52
Unless a specific rule says otherwise (i.e. Mark of Tzeentch stacking with ward saves), nothing stacks *except* extra attack.

O.k. but where does it state this?

stripsteak
01-09-2010, 17:58
I think you all are misunderstanding the question, and being a little to broad with your answer.

There is no general 'nothing stacks' rule
Special rules do not stack unless otherwise stated.
We are given specific rules on how armor saves work.

The question sounds more like its about i have a sword of +1 strength, and a talisman of -1 strength. do those stack/combine? I'm guessing this is more pertaining to specifics like if you have sword of might and potion of strength. does this mean you have +1 strength normally and then for one turn do you have +3 strength (use the better one) or +4 strength (stack them since they are different sources).

Dragoon999
01-09-2010, 18:14
O.k. heres a simplified ?

Iceshard blizzard
the curse of anraheir
pha's protection

they all give targets -1 to hit, does this stack, would it be -3 and if not where does it say that it won't.

Loopstah
01-09-2010, 18:27
O.k. heres a simplified ?

Iceshard blizzard
the curse of anraheir
pha's protection

they all give targets -1 to hit, does this stack, would it be -3 and if not where does it say that it won't.

Yes they would stack, it would be -3 to hit, 6's always hit though.

smithers
01-09-2010, 21:11
Unless a specific rule says otherwise (i.e. Mark of Tzeentch stacking with ward saves), nothing stacks *except* extra attack.

I think you have this bass ackwards.

It seems to me that any +1/-1 etc... effect WILL stack unless the rules state otherwise (as is the case for MR and ward saves)

Dragoon999
01-09-2010, 22:18
So that being said you could use glittering scales and aura of quetzl to get a -2 to be hit in close combat as well as any other combos that stack-thanks guys.

Korraz
01-09-2010, 22:26
Yes they would stack, it would be -3 to hit, 6's always hit though.

In melee, that is.