PDA

View Full Version : When is a Charge "completed"?



Venerable_Bede
06-09-2010, 13:35
The rules say that a charge that cannot be "completed" is a failed charge.

Here's the situation.

A unit of Dwarfs and a unit of Chaos Marauders are in combat frontally.

In the Chaos turn the Chaos player wants to charge a unit of Chaos Hounds (3 files x 2 ranks) that is in the Dwarfs' flank zone into the unit.

The Hounds can make corner to edge contact, but can't "close the door" because if they do so their second rank will contact and slightly overlap another Dwarf unit.

The Dwarf unit can't move to "close the door" because it's in combat with the Marauders to its front.

Can the Hounds "complete" the charge or is it a failed charge?

the Goat
06-09-2010, 14:29
The Dwarf unit certainly can close the door. Place the hounds as close to the second dwarf unit as possible. Then the whole ongoing combat between the Dwarves and Marauders rotates to close the door. No problem at all.

mishari26
06-09-2010, 14:31
what I know is, if neither the charger or the charged have any way of making the charge work and close th door, then the charge fails.

but maybe a diagram is needed to understand your situation Bede :)

Venerable_Bede
06-09-2010, 14:44
The Dwarf unit certainly can close the door. Place the hounds as close to the second dwarf unit as possible. Then the whole ongoing combat between the Dwarves and Marauders rotates to close the door. No problem at all.


Really? My sense is that would likely set off a huge chain reaction where the whole line is being shifted to accomodate that one fight.

Seems odd.

T10
06-09-2010, 15:02
Indeed.

The charging unit closes the door if able to do so. Otherwise the charged unit closes the door if able to do so.

In the OP scenario the charged unit of Dwarfs cannot close the door because of an obstructing unit: the unit of Marauders it is already fighting.

In this case the charge either fails or cannot even be declared because it cannot be completed.

-T10

Duke_Corwin
06-09-2010, 16:30
I believe T-10 has summed it up correctly. The charge can't be made legally.

Eldoriath
06-09-2010, 19:55
Does it have to be an corner to edge contact? I mean, can't they just charge and be satisfied with making one model or two in contact and fulfill the part about making a legal charge that maximises number of models involved?

Also, why is it illegal to overlap with the other dwarf unit? you are allowed to come within 1" of enemy units with a charge even if you do not charge that unit.

T10
06-09-2010, 20:12
If a one-on-one situation is the best you can achieve, then that's what you get. For ranked regiments it's not really ideal, but not all units consists of multiple models after all. :)

As for "overlapping the other dwarf unit", the chargers aren't so much "running" as "sliding" into them. While they are allowed to approach within one inch of any other units while charging, they are only allowed into base contact with the target unit - see p.16: "Declare Charge".

alextroy
06-09-2010, 20:19
This is incorrect. According to Charging More Than One Unit on page 18, a unit must declare a charge against a second unit that it would be forced to contact while completing the charge against the originally charged unit.

T10
06-09-2010, 21:13
I don't follow. Explain.

-T10

Venerable_Bede
06-09-2010, 21:20
This is incorrect. According to Charging More Than One Unit on page 18, a unit must declare a charge against a second unit that it would be forced to contact while completing the charge against the originally charged unit.

Yes, but can you charge a unit by contacting them with your rear rank or by swinging the rear of your unit around so that a model on your flank is what makes contact?

And if you're right, how do you figure the Combat Res? Does the unit you've "charged" and contacted with the rear rank or a flanking model give your opponent a CR for fighting to flank/rear? And does your unit (the one "contacted" in flank or rear) get supporting attacks?