PDA

View Full Version : ASL + ASF = Re-roll misses?



wingate32
06-09-2010, 17:40
If I cast a spell that grants my Greatswords unit ASF, do they get to re-roll misses if they have higher Iniative than my opponents? Or is that effect canceled out by ASL.

I saw that High Elves got to do that but someone told me it was only due to their armybook.

Can someone enlightening me?

Teongpeng
06-09-2010, 17:54
someone is right.

g0ddy
06-09-2010, 17:56
In the main rule book, ASF and ASL cancel out.. and go back to normal init... in the HE army book ASF takes precedence over ASL.

~ Zilla

wingate32
06-09-2010, 18:19
In the main rule book, ASF and ASL cancel out.. and go back to normal init... in the HE army book ASF takes precedence over ASL.

~ Zilla

So ASL cancel out both effects? Not just the Strike first part?

Trains_Get_Robbed
06-09-2010, 18:28
No, you just strike at your I vaule with no rerolls, if you have ASF and ASL. So Greatswords would strike at I3 or whatever they are.

DaemonReign
06-09-2010, 18:28
So ASL cancel out both effects? Not just the Strike first part?

Exactly. Empire Greatswords with ASF-augment strikes at Initiative order WITHOUT re-rolls.

stripsteak
06-09-2010, 18:59
ASL and ASF cancel out and neither apply...if you are applying part of a rule you aren't canceling that rule.

T10
06-09-2010, 19:35
I saw that High Elves got to do that but someone told me it was only due to their armybook.


Yes, that is due to the specific wording of the Speed of Asuryan special rule in the High Elf army book.

-T10

Signius
06-09-2010, 20:31
I don't know why some people seem to think HE have some sort of special immunity to ASL. They just ignore the ASL from great weapons, thats all. Literally every other effect that causes ASL works on them.

Kloud13
06-09-2010, 20:38
But you know what pisses off HE Generals even more, is when you give ASF to a unit in combat with a HE unit. If both units have ASF, they strike at the same time regardless of Intiative. And the HE loses the re-roll.

g0ddy
07-09-2010, 03:20
AoE Speed of Light pisses us off more :p

~ zilla

a18no
07-09-2010, 15:16
But you know what pisses off HE Generals even more, is when you give ASF to a unit in combat with a HE unit. If both units have ASF, they strike at the same time regardless of Intiative. And the HE loses the re-roll.

When facing zombies granted ASF by a corpse cart you meen?? :p

Selendra
07-09-2010, 23:41
thats one silly High elf player for letting the counts get the ASF off from the cart.
I ALWAYS save dice to dispel that sucker, the counts don't have many spells that can hamper / hurt me as much as that.

a18no
08-09-2010, 15:15
thats one silly High elf player for letting the counts get the ASF off from the cart.
I ALWAYS save dice to dispel that sucker, the counts don't have many spells that can hamper / hurt me as much as that.

And an IF danse?? We saw a big horde of swordmaster behing cut by a big horde of gouls!