PDA

View Full Version : [2000pts] Vampires - Calling all veteran vamps...

Quannum
15-09-2010, 18:39
Greetings all,

I'm a long-time Fantasy player and have recently ventured into the realm of the Vampires. I understand the game mechanics well but of course, I am a complete rookie when it comes to playing this unique race.

Any advice you could all give me would be great! Particularly on whether a Varghulf goes well in this army.

Here goes:

VAMPIRES 2000pts.

Vampire Lord - 395 pts.
Master of the Black Arts, Forbidden Lore (Light), Summon Ghouls.
Cad. Cuirass, WofBlack Gold, Helm of Commandment, Black Periapt.

Necromancer - 70 pts.
IoN, VHDM.

Necromancer - 70 pts.
IoN, VHDM.

10 Skeletons - 100 pts. (small bunker for Lord)
Full Command

25 Ghouls - 200 pts.

25 Ghouls - 200 pts.

30 Grave Guard - 465 pts.
Full Command, Great Weapons, Banner of the Barrows.

5 Blood Knights - 325 pts.
Full Command

Varghulf - 175 pts.

TOTAL - 2000pts.

My thoughts were the Lord is gonna fulfil the dual roles of main caster, and inspiring leader - he'll tuck behind the horde of Grave Guard in the unit of skeletons and allow the battleline to march properly (probably the only hassle and thing I don't like about the VC rules...). The Grave Guard will be flanked on either side by the Ghouls (in horde formation also), who will be boosted by the casters above starting weight. Blood Knights and Varghulf provide two hammer units on either flank, Blood Knights will hit blocks hard, whilst the Varghulf will take on mages, warmachines, skirmishers, etc...

One question. Is my Lord still allowed to take Invocation, on top of the Lore of Light? It says in the book that all Vampires know it innately...or do I have to take Lore of Vampires to unlock it?

Q

Modaavi
15-09-2010, 19:39
I've been playing VC since it became an army, so I should qualify as a vet :skull:. The list looks pretty good overall, but here are a few observations: