PDA

View Full Version : Soon be starting...

High_Marshal_Helbrecht
16-09-2010, 15:33
Right, soon I plan on starting painting my army!!
This will be the first time i have painted since i was 6-7, so my painting knowledge never went further than painting from the pot!! *shame* :*)

This is the colour scheme i shall be going for across all my miniatures
http://i44.photobucket.com/albums/f45/Informatics2006/spacemarine1-1.jpg
or this
http://i44.photobucket.com/albums/f45/Informatics2006/spacemarine2-1.jpg

What i wanted to know and ask really is this.

How should i start?..What brand of paints? Vallejo, Reaper, Coat D'arms, GW? i see so many in tutorials and videos i'm massively confused!

Brushes?..I mean i figure i will need a base coat and wash brush, along with some fine detail ones!...But do i go Army Painter or GW?..Kolinsky even?

Thinning paints, water?..P3 Mixing Medium!?..Reaper flow improver!?

Essentially, how in the blue hell do i start!...I am a COMPLETE newbie as-far as painting goes!

Ray K.
17-09-2010, 20:37
Take a deep breath and slow down, dude. Go buy the basic colors you'll need for your models and a standard spread of brushes. I recommend vallejo paints but that's just personal preference. Unless you're lucky your first miniatures will generally be terrible. So just take your time and worry about your technique. Learn the basic concepts of highlighting and shading or ink washing. Water down your paints. In time start to explore more advanced techniques, but keep it simple at first. Work on achieving a clean solid coat of paint with effective highlighting and shading. That's tabletop quality alone right there.

nedsta
17-09-2010, 23:13
same as Ray says, also if your near a GW or have a local games club then pop in and ask them for help, they'll be more then happy to show you some hints and tips, but just try not to run before you can walk and you'll be fine buddy

razcalking
19-09-2010, 00:28