PDA

View Full Version : Vanhel's Danse Macabre.. 8" of charge?



mishari26
27-09-2010, 21:10
ok, so far we've always done it that the 8" the spell allows you to move are simply what you move the unit.. however..

with 8th ed. charging rules.. you don't have measure when moving chargers.

you just:
- declare charge. resolve reaction.
- roll distance, check "charge distance" from tip to tip.
- move charger without measuring wheel distance or anything. as long as no more than 1 wheel of 90 degree is made.

so my question is about the 8".. last game the VC player had a horde of skeletons, so it was a bit wide. and he had a unit in his sight but on the extreme left of his front arc.

so if he had to measure his wheel, it was alot more than 8" and would not be able to reach.

but if we follow the 8th ed. charge procedure, the tip-to-tip distance was less than 8". and the charge would be successful.

which is correct?? many thanks.

theunwantedbeing
27-09-2010, 21:23
Those are the charge rules.
Makes those sorts of spells extra handy now.

a18no
27-09-2010, 21:59
I will play it exactly like a random movement (like abomination). You move the 8", if you can close a unit, it count as a charge. Simple as that.

Chris_
27-09-2010, 22:58
Yes, you did it right. The charge range is measured from the two closest points and then you can move as much as you want to get in to b2b, with the max 90 degree wheel, after that you still have the "Aligning to Enemy" rule.

mishari26
28-09-2010, 04:30
ahh again I asked without checking the FAQ/errata:

Page 39 – Vanhel’s Danse Macabre
Replace “[...] – it can charge (up to 8"), wheel, turn, change
formation or even reform.” with “[...] – it can charge (with a
charge range of 8”), wheel, or even reform.”

so I guess this settles it. the spell is alot more useful now!!