PDA

View Full Version : steam Tank Question



DarcinCole
01-10-2010, 10:48
Am I missing something with the Steam Tank?

All the forums I go to seem to suggest magic with no strength value does not work on the Steam Tank.

However in the empire FAQ it state "Steam tank magic phase - ignore this paragraph". Doesn't this remove its immunity to spells with no strength value?

My opponent doesn't think so.

Atrahasis
01-10-2010, 10:52
The tank can be affected by all magic except Pit of Shades.

eyescrossed
01-10-2010, 14:00
Also, it only has a Pit of Shades immunity because some idiot on the FAQ team copy/pasted it from the old one.

It's still official, however.

SilasOfTheLambs
01-10-2010, 14:54
Your opponent is wrong and you are correct, except in the case of pit (as described above). Note that this also means that you can buff the steam tank using magic (pha's protection to guard against cannonballs, birona's timewarp for tank sprints, wyssan's wildform for s7 impact hits, shield of thorns, cascating fire cloak, etc etc etc). Your opponent should consider using some kind of tactics like this.

eyescrossed
13-10-2010, 07:04
I thought it'd be more efficient to post in this than start a new thread...

Do Steam Tanks have a chance to pass Initiative tests now? The FAQ removed the autofail rule and the Engineer has I3, and you use the highest if a model has multiple values.

SiNNiX
13-10-2010, 07:18
I thought it'd be more efficient to post in this than start a new thread...

Do Steam Tanks have a chance to pass Initiative tests now? The FAQ removed the autofail rule and the Engineer has I3, and you use the highest if a model has multiple values.

That is correct, sir.

eyescrossed
13-10-2010, 07:27
W00t!

Thanks for the quick answer :)

SiNNiX
13-10-2010, 07:41
W00t!

Thanks for the quick answer :)

Everybody gets one. *whoosh*

eyescrossed
13-10-2010, 07:42
Hahaha, yeah :p

Atrahasis
13-10-2010, 09:35
That is correct, sir.

No, it is not correct. The FAQ does not remove the autofail.

madden
13-10-2010, 09:43
Latest FAQ got rid of pit immunity as well.

eyescrossed
13-10-2010, 10:51
No, it is not correct. The FAQ does not remove the autofail.

From what I can see, yes it did.

"Change the profile, equipment and special rules for the Steam Tank on Page 50 to:"

It doesn't include the Autofail.

Or... Am I missing something? I think I'm missing something.

Atrahasis
13-10-2010, 11:12
The Tank's rules for characteristic tests are on page 51, not page 50, and are not affected by any of the amendments/errata.

RanaldLoec
13-10-2010, 18:55
Yep GW made the pit a bit deeper so now the stank fits in it.;)

Shas'O Vash
13-10-2010, 19:25
Ok, can I get a summary on this one? Stanks are now affected by all magic, to include Pit of Shades and autofail initiative tests. Does this sound right?

Atrahasis
13-10-2010, 19:25
That's right.

RanaldLoec
13-10-2010, 19:45
It is worth noting though that steam tanks automatically pass all characteristic tests bar initiative which it auto fails.

And no leadership tests are not a characteristic test.

So spells like dwellers below can Target the steam tank but will do naff all to it as it automatically passes the strength test.

It's great watching your opponent waste 6 power dice and a power scroll then semi nuke his wizard for nothing.

RanaldLoec
13-10-2010, 19:46
It is worth noting though that steam tanks automatically pass all characteristic tests bar initiative which it auto fails.

And no leadership tests are not a characteristic test.

So spells like dwellers below can Target the steam tank but will do naff all to it as it automatically passes the strength test.

It's great watching your opponent waste 6 power dice and a power scroll then semi nuke his wizard for nothing.

eyescrossed
14-10-2010, 01:29
The Tank's rules for characteristic tests are on page 51, not page 50, and are not affected by any of the amendments/errata.

You're right... :cries:

Meh, guess I have to keep it away from Cracks Call and the Brass Orb.