PDA

View Full Version : Wizard in a challenge, can he target outside the challenge?



mishari26
05-10-2010, 15:07
Highelves have this gear combo (Folriath's Robe + Talisman of Saphery) that makes the mage almost invulnerable in close combat, unless up against Daemons or Forest Spirits for example..

so, if I go into a challenge with such an Archmage, can he cast direct damage spells, hexes, or what have you on units outside the combat he is in?

p.102 in BRB says under "Fighting a Challenge":
"These two characters must direct all of their attacks against each other.."

would spells be considered part of the "attacks" term here? if yes, which kinds of spells? are augments ok to be cast outside the challenge, while direct damage are not??

Thanks to all who respond,

Elyssia
05-10-2010, 15:11
Spells are not attacks in the context of challenges. Challenges are limited to the combat fase.

Fubar
06-10-2010, 07:40
Spells are not attacks in the context of challenges. Challenges are limited to the combat fase.

Citation Needed ^^

Greyfire
06-10-2010, 12:51
Citation Needed ^^

Page 102, last paragraph, last sentence. It states something about close combat only. That should do it.

ColShaw
06-10-2010, 13:30
Obviously he couldn't use Magic Missiles, since he's in combat, but otherwise, yeah, he can cast on other targets. Page ref as noted above.