PDA

View Full Version : Fencers Blades and Mounts



venomx51
08-10-2010, 09:10
What's the general consensus on the Fencers Blades when mounted?

You can't take an additional hand weapon when mounted, so can you take the Fencers Blades?

the_slosh
08-10-2010, 10:04
my response would be that it does not count as a additional hand weapon simply just grants the "extra attack" rule

the rules for paired weapons are as follows:
Paired weapons are Magic Weapons that are bought as a pair. In additon to their other effects, paired weapons grant the bearer the Extra Attack special rule

extra attack special rule:
A model with this special rule (or who is attacking with a weapon that bestows this special rule) increases his Attacks value by 1

Nothing in there that says you cannot be mounted :D

Althwen
08-10-2010, 10:09
I would agree with the_slosh. The wording of the rule would actually allow a mounted model to benefit from the Fencer's Blades extra attack.

Chris_
08-10-2010, 10:13
You will get the extra attack as Paired Weapons don't work in the same way as AHW. They only grant the Extra Attack special rule.

venomx51
08-10-2010, 11:29
Fairy nuff. Cheers for the answers.

decker_cky
08-10-2010, 16:28
Note: Fencer's blades could easily be modeled as a great weapon, halberd or any other weapon taking two hands.

Tarian
08-10-2010, 16:31
Could be a single hand weapon too, that prevents (magically!) the use of any other hand weapon/shield.

AMWOOD co
09-10-2010, 00:24
Check the FAQ. Paired weapons are also Requires Two Hands.

As for using paired weapons while mounted, Korhil solves the issue nicely since his axe(s) has been deemed a paired weapon (the little one isn't the named one... ha!). He can be mounted in a chariot. No conflict is present.

Also, note that paired weapons don't actually count as an additional hand weapon even though they follow all the same rules other than the restriction of being for on foot only.