PDA

View Full Version : Chariots vs. Challenge



Pavulon
15-10-2010, 20:36
This came up in a game the other day.

Ogre unit w/ tyrant was charged in the side by a Keeper of Secrets. Challenge ensued and the Tyrant was in a fight with the Keeper. Neither died on that turn. Then in the ogre turn, the scraplauncher charged the Keeper.

Now in the rules, it states that impact hits happen "before challenges are issued". I understand that there was not a challenge issued that turn. We reasoned it out like this, impact hits hit the unit like shooting, so the unit (which was just the Keeper model) took the impacts, but that the chariot was then unable to strike the keeper during the regular combat, it did however grant a flank charge for combat resolution.

Sound right?

Synnister
15-10-2010, 22:54
Challenges are for the combat so during the Ogre's turn the 2 models would still be in a challenge and since you can't affect models in a challenge you'd not be able to use the impact hits against the keeper.

SiNNiX
15-10-2010, 23:06
Challenges are for the combat so during the Ogre's turn the 2 models would still be in a challenge and since you can't affect models in a challenge you'd not be able to use the impact hits against the keeper.

Just to add a little backbone to this explanation, he is correct. Only models involved in the challenge can choose to allocate attacks (of any kind) towards challengers. Keep in mind that Special Rules that affect models in base contact (Vambraces of the Sun and Noxious Vapours to name a few), even if utilized by models who are not involved in a challenge, still affect the models who are involved in the challenge.