PDA

View Full Version : Different size bases and supporting attacks



RonCrazy
26-10-2010, 23:34
So lets say i have a squad of bloodletters lead by a herald on a juggernaut, his base takes 4 spots in the formation, now the question is, does the 2 bloodletters behind the herald get supportive attacks ? they are somewhat in rank 3 becourse of the base size of the herald on his juggernaut.

Thanks in advance.

Irakaz
26-10-2010, 23:49
No they do not.

Chris_
26-10-2010, 23:54
You answered the question yourself. They are in rank 3 and thus gets to make no supporting attacks, however if you horde up then they will be able to make supporting attacks.

decker_cky
26-10-2010, 23:59
The supporting attacks rule actually suggests you should be able to attack from the third rank as long at the model in front of you is in base to base with enemies.

Palatine Katinka
27-10-2010, 00:14
Looks like they can as "A model can make a supporting attack if it is directly behind a friendly model that is itself fighting an enemy in base contact,". However, If the unit is a Horde then no extra models behind the Herald will fight as The Horde rules refer to "the third rank" rather than models behind those in combat.

Although, rereading the rules about fitting larger bases into a unit kinda suggests that we should run it as if the space in the second rank (the footprint) was filled by rank n file instead of the character's base...

Edit: Also just noticed that, in order to make supporting attacks, the model must be behind a model that is fighting. Does this mean that abilities that prevent models from being able to fight also prevent the models directly behind from fighting?

spiderman5z
27-10-2010, 00:29
mmm i think since its a different base size u can put it on the side of the unit to avoid confusion

Palatine Katinka
27-10-2010, 00:43
It only goes on the side if it doesn't fit nicely in the unit. A herald on jugger nicely occupies the equivalent of 2x2 bloodletters so it is put amongst the ranks. When working out the ranks we are to do so "as if the space was filled with rank and file troops".

Chris_
27-10-2010, 01:05
And supporting attacks still mention second rank.

RonCrazy
27-10-2010, 01:15
it seems only in the fluff part of the text Chris_

Chris_
27-10-2010, 01:24
it seems only in the fluff part of the text Chris_No, that is actually the rules part of the text. The rest explains the details on the rule. The same lay-out in the whole rulebook.

stripsteak
27-10-2010, 03:13
its also backed up by the horde rule that specifies in addition to the 2nd rank the 3rd rank can make supporting attacks