PDA

View Full Version : The hrud

imtheman
03-11-2010, 21:06
If you have heard of the Hrud, then you are probably fairly advanced in terms of your knowledge of warhammer 40k. i am thinking about starting a hrud army, essentially played as space skaven however, the xenology image released by games workshop contradicts the old "other dangerous aliens" in which it is essentially a space skaven.
http://www.warhammer.cz/img/Clanky/Hrud.jpg this too me at least looks like a rat thing with a hood and a weird gun thing... im not an expert, but thats a rat tail coming out if ive ever seen one.
but the new picture released looks like ...well.. see for yourself http://wh40k.lexicanum.com/mediawiki/images/3/3b/Hrud.jpg
its like a giant alien humanoid peice of snot..
WHAT SHOULD I DO? which hrud do i base it around. they are described as a nocturnal tunneling race, that rarely leaves the ground. they also are described as an infestation. this right there sounds like a description of skaven, and seems as though skaven were planned to become a 40k army, but this new picture says otherwise. i would rather make a skaven army then a "bendy" army as they are now nicknamed, but i dont want to generate completely false fluff... what do i do?

Lord Damocles
04-11-2010, 09:30
Hrud were never 'space Skaven'.

Hrud as 'space Skaven' was a conclusion reached (jumped to) by people looking at the image in the 3rd ed. Rulebook (pg.116), and as such has never been anything more than fan fiction.
That 'tail' could be anything - tail? wire/cable? tentacle? trailing detritus?

MagosHereticus
04-11-2010, 09:47
the second picture is an artists impression of a near mythical being, it looks nothing like the revolting corpse on the dissection table

Hendarion
04-11-2010, 10:06
Yea, MagosHereticus, but it is official and direct GW material.

Lord Damocles
04-11-2010, 10:16
While the Xenology artist's impression may not be 100% accurate, it isn't a million miles away from what's on the dissection slab.