PDA

View Full Version : Skave Warpfire Thrower/Mortar vs Dark Elf Magic?

Poseidon_II_
09-11-2010, 20:40
Hi im new to warhammer and so is my friend (playing skaven). We hade our first match yesterday and now i got some rule questions. Skaven warpfire thrower (and the poison windmortar stuff) counts as a addition to the clan rat unit and can be placed at the same time as the clan rats in the deployment zone. So I thought that if I cast Chillwind on the clan rats it would prevent the mortar/warpfire thrower from shooting, the mortar team was really close to the clan rats. (rules on Chillwind: Magic missile. 24" range D6 S4 hits, any unit taking casualties cannot shoot in its next turn) or if I used Bladewind I could kill the mortar/warpfire thrower with the attack I direct against a specific model in a unit and the mortar/warpfire thrower counted as the same unit according to my friend (rules on bladewind: Target one unit visible within 24" range. The spell inflicts 3D6 WS4, S4 close combat attacksupon the target. One of these attacks can be allocated against each character and champion in the unit).

But my frind said that chillwind and bladewind diden't work that way on the mortar/warpfire thrower and he also stated that he diden't need a wizard to dispel spells (roll dispell dices). And both was very unsure if bladewind could direct the damage after all attacks where rolled or if you roll one "special dice" for the "extra" target you select for bladewind. And can poison wind mortar thingy shoot all over the gameboard? My firnd said it hade infinate range (wtf?).

Lord_Elric
09-11-2010, 20:58
I belive that the weapons teams are targeted seperatly to the unit if ever fired at though im not sure of the Exact rules, so going on what i know id say no unless the spell targeted the team then it wouldnt effect it

on your second piont no you do not need a wizard in order to dispel that is 100%

however i do not know about the range problem sounds iffy to me though